Ooooooh Ducky!  

This crazy little dog of mine is going to be the death of me one of these days…

A few months ago – early in the summer – the little monster snuck past me downstairs at the back door and tried to nip the Terminix guy on the ankle. (Thankfully, I grabbed her before she could bite and he was really nice about it. But I was mortified and Ducky got quite a scolding, in front of him.) 

Then, last-week Monday when I went down to daycare to pick her up, I learned that she had gotten into quite a tussle with one of the other dogs over – are you ready for this? – one of the chairs!  The way I understand it, Ducky and this other dog arrived on this chair within a split second of each other and Ducky bit the other dog on the ear. She acted like a spoiled-rotten little brat over a chair. And she lost all chair privileges for the rest of the afternoon. The other dog did not retaliate. She just walked away and ignored Ducky.  When Maria  told me about Ducky’s shenanigans, I was upset. Not with Maria, but with Ducky. I asked Maria if the other dog was okay and she assured me she was. “It was just a small, pinprick size bite, and it will heal quickly. Dogs will be dogs…” But biting another dog, other animal, or a human, is unacceptable behavior in our home; and isn’t tolerated without some form of punishment. So I was glad that Maria and her employees did not let Ducky get away with her nonsense and meted out the punishment of lost privileges. I called Maria on Tuesday to check on the other dog, and she’s fine. The bite had already scabbed over and was healing. 

So, Ducky has been on probation yet again, all week. For the most part she has been a good girl. But last Wednesday, when I came home from a last-minute shopping trip to Target and PetSmart with a new (inexpensive) dog bed for the living room, the demonbrat side of her surfaced again. Ducky tried to claim the new bed for her own. As Shadow sniffed at it, the brat started growling at her. Hubby and I both scolded her as poor Shadow just walked away. We didn’t put the bed away; but Ducky knew why she was scolded…she didn’t make another sound the rest of the evening. A few times since then she has tried again to claim the bed, but she was scolded again each time.

And then yesterday afternoon she did this….  and this…

 
Now tell me: How can I stay upset with my little demonbrat when she acts so sweetly toward her big sister?!  I can’t. Plain and simple. And she has been good as gold today.

Hope everyone has a safe, healthy, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

23 thoughts on “Ooooooh Ducky!  

  1. Patricia says:

    I’m glad the daycare didn’t make a fuss about it. I’m also glad they kept her off the chairs the rest of the day. That’s a lot more understandable to a dog than “time out”, I think. Does Ducky steal balls out of Shadow’s mouth? Our big GSD puppy Cedar will sometimes very gently take a Nylabone or toy out of Shasta’s mouth! The nerve! Sometimes I block him and send him away when he does that, especially if she’s busy chewing.

    • My Golden Life says:

      I agree about the “time out” concept, Patricia. Dogs understand negative punishment, as long as it’s applied immediately after an unacceptable behavior and not “when Daddy gets home”.

      No, she doesn’t try to steal toys/balls out of Shadow’s mouth, but she taken them from between her front paws (and Callie’s when she was still here physically). Like you, I will block the effort if possible – Ducky is a F A S T little brat – if blocking not possible, I will take whatever toy/ball she has just stolen, say “no!”, and give it back to Shadow.

      • Eaglestare says:

        What a sneaky ducky! And shadow just lets her? Shastas demeanor w cedar even after has grown bigger than her has been surprising bc of her crazy hyper dominant behavior when we first adopted jumping on a dog snarling and good aggression etc.

        If shes tired of his pestering shell correct him till he yelps. Then she turns around and comes to me and look at me w ears back.then go back to cedar. It’s so ineresting to observe how dogs communicate isn’t it?

        I bought cesars language of dogs DVD and so far it’s good. Reminds me to be instinctual too and focus on the moment. You might like it!

      • Patricia says:

        I’m retyping this bc my wonderful message disappeared…Shastas submissive demeanor is pleasantly surprising considering how she was when I first for her. She’s had dominant aggression and food aggression has really transformed. If she ever corrects cedar she immediately comes to ck in a me w ears back. Then she goes back to him. It’s so interesting to observe dogs communicating isn’t it?

        I got cedars language of dogs DVD and so far it’s a good reminder to come back to being instinctual and pay attn to the moment. I think you’ll like it.

    • My Golden Life says:

      That’s the way Callie and Shadow were with each other; with one exception…food or treats. Shadow always respected Callie’s space when they were eating; but if Callie finished first and decided she wanted some of Shadow’s, Shadow would defend her space. I usually stood between them while they ate to block Callie and send her out of the kitchen until Shadow was done eating. It didn’t happen more than a few times in their 11 years together, but it was a bit unnerving for me when it did. And now Shadow has taken on Callie’s role as the patient sister. Though every now and then, Ducky will push her to the limits of her patience. And then I have to step in to say “enough!”

  2. easyweimaraner says:

    I’m with you…how can I be angry when the devil turns into an angel two minutes later? I think dogs are like people sometimes, they can have a bad day too, where they act like grumpy cat or Denis the menace… Easy currently has this day(s) … butt I love him anway :o)

  3. Jan K says:

    They are just like children sometimes, aren’t they? They seem to know exactly what to do to soften your heart again.
    Luke has been getting more possessive of things lately, and we’re trying to teach him what the girls mostly know, if you get snarly or possessive of something, it gets taken away. So far he always backs down though, and I hope we can keep it that way.

  4. 2 Brown Dawgs says:

    I think sometimes dogs must be dogs, but one of the reasons we do not put our dogs in daycare is because I would not want a situation like this to happen. If my dog was bitten at daycare, I would never send the dog back.

  5. Groovy Goldendoodles says:

    I don’t know what I would do if Harley or Jax bit another dog at daycare. I also don’t know what I would do if they were the ones who were bit. None-the less – dogs are just that “dogs” who can have moods too. With you and the daycare staff working together – hopefully this becomes an isolated incident. It’s tough being a pet parent isn’t it? All we can do is our very best… Take care and keep us posted.

    • My Golden Life says:

      Yes, sometimes its nerve wracking being a pet parent! Especially to a demonbrat like Ducky. Shadow is a perfect angel – calm, sweet, and usually quite patient. I’m hoping this will prove to have been an isolated incident. She’s been going there for more than three years and as far as I know has never turned on any of the dogs or employees. I’ve kept her home since the incident occurred – both to work with her and to avoid the round-trip traffic twice a day during the holidays. So far, she has been a good girl all week.

  6. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Shadow reminds me of Scout! So very patient and loving! Ducky is learning and it is a good thing his sister doesn’t get upset with him. Sometimes big sisters can be the best:) I have never taken my dogs to doggie daycare because I’m afraid of what might happen, whether they will cause a ruckus or be in the middle of something that they shouldn’t be:( Hope you all had a very Merry Christmas and here’s hoping you have a very Happy New Year!

    • My Golden Life says:

      Hi Lisa! I’ve missed you my friend. Glad your weddings went so well!! We had a nice, quiet Christmas and are looking forward to a quiet New Year’s too.

      Ducky is a piece of work, that’s for sure! And lucky that her big sister has acquired a great deal of patience. But as far as daycare goes, it was the best thing for her from day one. A friend takes her dogs there and actually recommended them because they are so good with the dogs. I’m hoping this was just an isolated incident. I guess time will tell. But she has been really good at home this past week. Keep your fingers crossed. She has a lot of friends there – both doggie and human – so I’d hate for her to be banned.

  7. cocoabean2225 says:

    Oh Ducky!! That is so sweet that she was apologizing. Like she is in a stage of rebelliousness. And you can not stay mad for sure!!

Leave a Reply

