Happy Boxing Day!!!

My mind is all jumbled today with random thoughts and ideas, so forgive me if this post seems jumbled as well.

First of all, I hope everyone has been enjoying the 2015 Holiday Season so far, regardless of which holiday you celebrate at this time of year.

It took until Christmas Eve day for me to feel like truly celebrating. Up until then I was just muddling through each day, wishing Callie was still with us and missing her physical presence. I decided on the night before Christmas Eve day that I was not going to allow the four-month anniversary of Callie’s spiritual transition to dampen my Christmas Spirit. The rain was bad enough.

Then my good friend and fellow pet blogger, Susan Kottwitz of Talking-Dogs.com sent me a poem on Facebook titled “The Night Before Christmas At Rainbow Bridge.” Although it made me cry, it also made me smile. And it gave me great comfort as well. I was able to make it through the day without tearing up again over thoughts of my sweet Callie.

IMG_0324

On Christmas Eve day, I helped Santa finish our Christmas shopping. I went online and made a donation to the Morris Animal Foundation’s Golden Retriever Lifetime Study. It was one of Hubby’s and my Christmas gifts to each other, in memory of our slightly older Golden Girl.

Hubby and I had decided to keep Christmas “low key” this year, so the only gifts we actually wrapped were the toys we got for our grandsons, Will and Henry. On Christmas Day, I made the sizing adjustments to the new collars for Shadow and Ducky, attached their tags to the new tag holders they also got from Santa, and put their new collars around their necks.

IMG_0923        IMG_0925

Aren’t the new collars cute? I just love them! I’m hoping the new tag holders stand up to Ducky’s rough-housing play with both her daycare buddies and her older sister!

Oh! I almost forgot to tell you! I’m still working on the new blog’s setup…I hope to have it ready to go live on New Year’s Day but don’t hold your breath. I still have a lot of end-of-the-year stuff to do for my non-blogging life first.  When it’s ready, I’ll let you know here on My Golden Life, complete with a link.

Well, that’s it for us today. 

Posted in: Christmas Spirit | Tagged: Christmas, Christmas spirit, Ducky, Hubby & Me, Shadow

.

8 thoughts on “Happy Boxing Day!!!

  1. Jan K says:

    The collars are beautiful! I’m glad they brought you some cheer for Christmas, it’s such a tough time to be missing someone.
    I had a bit of trouble focusing on the happy…I try so hard not to worry about Sheba, but it’s tough. They had a fun Christmas though (even though they got a bit out of control!), so it all turned out good.
    Yesterday we had Christmas with my family and I was determined not to be negative…it turned out great and just being with my siblings and all of the family always cheers me up.
    I can’t wait to see your new blog setup completed!

    • My Golden Life says:

      It’s very tough – if not impossible – for us dog moms to not worry about our furry kids when they’re sick and/or hurting.
      I’m glad you were able to find comfort and cheer just being with your family yesterday! Unfortunately, my brother and our cousins are spread out along the East Coast from a few in upstate Connecticut all the way down to Islamorada in the Florida Keys. Makes it difficult for us to get together like we did when we were kids and all lived on Long Island.

Leave a Reply

