Just A Typical Saturday

I wrote this post last week – when the temps were in the high 30s/low 40s early in the morning – but never got around to publishing it. The only difference today is that the morning temps were in the low 60s. Ducky is just one high-energy dog, especially first thing in the morning.  

Ducky woke up this morning full of herself and full of energy as usual. Shadow woke up just needing to do her business as usual.

So, I got up and got dressed and took them out in the yard. Shadow took care of her needs while Ducky did eighty-mile-an-hour figure eights around the yard. In the middle of it all, she stopped once to squat and then took off again. 

Shadow watched her little sister, alternating between play barking at her and just laying down in the grass. 

She was probably in awe of Ducky’s speed and grace. Or maybe she was remembering her own youth…  

The many days and moments that she and Callie spent chasing each other around the yard. I wish I’d had a video camera back then! But those things were big, clunky, and expensive. WAY out of my budget. And nowhere near the quality of what’s available these days.

Back to Ducky though. I’m sorry I don’t have a short video clip to share. It was cold out here this morning and I had my gloves on. The phone doesn’t respond to gloved fingers. (I know because I’ve tried.) 

She was just relaxing in the grass a moment ago; but before I could get a picture, a squirrel in the oak tree caught her attention so she had to go stalk it. 

 

Shadow is content to lay on the cement driveway. She barely lifted her head when Ducky was stalking the squirrel. It is warming up nicely out here now. Ducky is back to her sunbathing.

Guess it’s time to go back inside and take the shower I haven’t had time for yet. πŸ˜‚ By then Ducky will have rested and be rarin’ to go again.

16 thoughts on “Just A Typical Saturday

  1. Patricia says:

    I can see Ducky zipping around the yard completely happy and carefree! She’s probably got similar energy as Miss Shasta our border collie. I’d love to see the two of them zip around together! Hee-hee!

  2. easyweimaraner says:

    Oh a squirrel… that sounds like entertainment :o) Our walk was a little special today, I forgot the poop-bags and had to use a paper tissue… and I learnt something… nerver to buy cheap paper tissues again :o)

    • My Golden Life says:

      I do, too, Jan! It gets us out in the fresh air, away from the always-too-loud tv news (or football), and gives us time to bond. Even if we aren’t playing, just being outside with the girls does wonders for my mood.

  3. cocoabean2225 says:

    Such beautiful weather!! We have had warm weather too. They have so much energy, right. Cocoa runs like a crazy pup and then rests for a short time and then it’s on again!! Hope you are having a good weekend!!

Leave a Reply

