Shadow’s Ouchie

Poor Shadow. With all my poor girl has been through in the last two months, she hit another bump in the road yesterday.


While we were playing fetch in the back yard, I suddenly saw Shadow stumble and end up in a heap on the grass. She got up, shook herself off, and hobbled over to me with the ball in her mouth.

When she had made her way to me, I saw that she was bleeding. A lot. From the front end of her paw.

To make a long story short  – for the sake of “Wordless Wednesday” – I will tell you that our wonderful vet took care of my girl. He removed the toenail (that she had torn almost to the base of the nail) as gently as he could, put a protective cap on the nail; and after aspirating yet another fatty tumor, sent us home with a week’s worth of antibiotics and some Tramadol for her pain.

The cap fell off – there wasn’t much nail left to adhere it to – about a half hour after the vet put it on. So, I wrapped her paw with some flexible bandage. Then I put a baby sock over the paw. (I got the idea from Jodi at Heart Like A Dog – I remembered she had used a baby sock on Sampson when he had that ugly sore on the top of his paw.) So far it’s working pretty well, too.

Thanks to BlogPaws for hosting the Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop!  Add your own link and/or check out some of the other links.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

29 thoughts on “Shadow’s Ouchie

    • My Golden Life says:

      Yes, it was! When I called the vet yesterday after the cap fell off, he suggested using one of our old socks and using the flexi-bandage stuff to keep it up. I knew from past experience it wouldn’t work. That’s when it “hit” me that Jodi had picked up a package of cute baby socks to use on Sampson’s paw that time. So I left hubby in charge while I ran up to the Target two miles east of us. And it’s working out perfectly.

    • My Golden Life says:

      As Caren said, Jodi’s idea was brilliant, absolutely brilliant! Poor Shadow wants so much to run and play in the yard with Ducky. But she’s just going to have to wait until the nail heals some more. Thank goodness for the treadmill! At least 10 minutes once or twice a day helps a little bit.

  1. Jodi says:

    Poor sweet Shadow! I hope she’s feeling better, it took Sampson a while to recover from his torn nail. (It’s finally starting to grow back!) Glad you remembered the tip about the sock. 😉

    • My Golden Life says:

      She’s doing better today, thanks. She’s not holding the foot up – she is walking on it today. The Tramadol is helping there, I guess. Poor girl. What really seems to bother her most is not being able to run and play with Ducky, or chase her ball, in the back yard. I want to wait at least til the weekend before I let her do any running outside. And even then she will still need the sock. And speaking of the sock, that idea was pure brilliance on your part! The baby socks fit her paw almost perfectly. I’m glad I remembered about it! Thanks for sharing the tip way back when!

  2. Elaine says:

    Aw, that sounds really painful. The sock idea works great and there are some cute baby socks out there that will at least put a smile on your face while Shadow is healing up. Sending hugs! 🙂

  3. Piranha Banana says:

    Aww – that must have been quite painful… earlier this summer my rescued sister Chihuahua/greyhound mix Daisy jumped a four foot fence and got her paw nail stuck on it. Her roots/veins were popping out everywhere and bleeding. Momma cringed but wrapped it up in tissue and went to the vet. Same thing as you, nail came off. She was limping the first few days, but now she is up to her old ways…but no jumping on fences – yay! Best wishes to you for a speedy recovery!

  4. Patricia says:

    That is one perfectly wrapped paw! I mean, wow! Nice and neat and all that. Sorry about the nail. I bet that was painful for her. Does she have to wear a cone thing on her head?

    • My Golden Life says:

      It’s still a bit painful for her, poor girl. But as long as she leaves it alone, she won’t have to wear the cone. And so far, she hasn’t bothered it except to lick the sock once in a while.

    • My Golden Life says:

      OMD! We think alike! We actually DID give her and her little sis a little bit of vanilla ice cream on Tuesday night! We will give them more tonight though and make it from Harley & Jax. Thanks! 🙂

  5. Kathy says:

    I used a baby sock on Hector (RIP) when he scraped one of his paw pads almost all the way off (owww) years ago, jumping over our stone wall. The baby sock worked great on him. I tried it on another dog years later, and he just pulled it off with his teeth ha ha! Hope your beautiful Shadow will heal quickly. You’ve had a lot to endure lately 😦

    • My Golden Life says:

      I’m sure you’ve had more than your share…even just one on one dog is more than anyone should have to deal with, IMHO. I guess we’ve been lucky that this one is our first – and hopefully our only one.

Leave a Reply

