Fun in Slo-Mo

Shadow and I are still missing our beloved Callie’s earthly presence; but we’re moving forward as best we can. We can sense Callie’s sweet Spirit around us all the time.

While Ducky played with her Kong Bounzer on Thursday, Shadow and I took advantage of the cooler temperatures and spent a few hours playing in the backyard. Just like we used to do with Callie.

This game of fetch with the tennis ball – or any other ball for that matter – was always one of Callie’s favorite backyard games with Shadow and me. As Callie’s arthritis got worse (after the second ACL surgery), I would hold Shadow back every other throw of the ball so Callie could find the ball on her own and return to me with a successful fetch. Both girls always loved to tease me with some keep-away at the end of the fetch.

Last Monday, while Shadow and I were playing fetch, the ball bounced into a far corner of the yard. Neither Shadow nor I could find it. I sent a text to Jodi saying that Callie’s spirit had stolen the ball and was hiding it from us. I called hubby to come outside to help us look for the ball; but just as he answered the phone, Callie dropped the ball and I found it. 🙂

Now a quick note. One of the changes I’ll be making to the blog is its name and domain. I still have a lot of work to do, but I wanted to let you know that much.

15 thoughts on “Fun in Slo-Mo

  1. Jan K says:

    I love it….Callie was still playing with you!

    I always do special throws for Sheba too, and holding onto the ball and chewing on it is her favorite thing to do. Cricket rules the fetch games, but I try to give everyone a turn. They each have their own way of playing which I love.

    • My Golden Life says:

      When my grandfather died in 1965, Mom came up with a few little stories about thunder actually being the noise made by Pop bowling in Heaven. It helped me actually enjoy thunderstorms as a preteen. So, now – MANY years later – I make up my own stories about Kissy and Callie playing with us. It helps ease the heartache.

  2. Julie says:

    I am sorry for your loss. I miss my Daisy and still will cry for her. I know she is with me always, just like Callie is with you. Their love and presence never leaves us 🙂

  3. Tails Around the Ranch says:

    I’m never sure we get completely over the loss of our beloved fur-kids. They continue to occupy a special spot in our hearts and souls that we visit from time to time. I am convinced however they know we’re thinking of and missing them and will greet us, tails a-wagging when our time comes to join ’em. Adorable vid. ❤

    • My Golden Life says:

      I know that I sure haven’t. A mere glance at Kissy’s photo will sometimes get my tear ducts working overtime. And she passed away a full six months before we picked Callie up from her breeder.
      And Callie? Some days I can’t even get breakfast or dinner ready for Shadow and Ducky without breaking down. Still, I know they are both with us ALL the time in one form or another.

Leave a Reply

