Gold and Black Retrievers, #MultiPet Mania

Callie and Shadow are Golden Retrievers.  Their DNA tells them to retrieve anything and everything.  What I keep forgetting is that Ducky is part (Black) Labrador Retriever.

I keep forgetting because inside the house her herding instincts and Corgi personality traits are so strong,   She likes to be a pain in the butt “the boss” of all other inhabitants.  We let her get away with it at times, but not for more than a few minutes.  Callie, if she’s awake at the time, will tell her she’s had enough by humping her.  Continuously.  Until the little black demon says “uncle” in dogese.

Ducky’s retriever DNA surfaced when I took the girls out for their first morning constitutional earlier. Shadow and Ducky both spotted their prey.

They tore out the porch door like bats out of hell toward the back fence. And I realized what it was.  I couldn’t run cuz I had Callie in tow on her leash.

Just as I reached Shadow, she caught the poor little thing as it tried to hop through the chain-link fence.  “LEAVE IT!” I shouted.  Ducky backed off.  It took a moment for Shadow to react, but she did drop it.  I ushered her and Ducky back to the porch and left them there with Callie.

It was the same little birdie that Ducky had helped Shadow catch on Sunday afternoon, in the other upper corner of the yard.  I figured Shadow had killed him/her this time.  I picked up the dustpan and broom I use when I’m sweeping the porch. And, telling the girls “wait”, went into the yard closing the screen door behind me.

(Sorry, I was so focused on rescuing the little guy/girl that taking a photo was not even in the back of my mind.)

I got out to where Shadow had dropped the bird, and didn’t see him at first. But then he peeped at me. I tried to get him to go through the fence, but he just kept hopping around next to the utility building.

Finally, he hopped under the building.  At that point I left him alone. Not even Ducky can squeeze under there, let alone her big sisters.

But they can dig.


The fence post topper was upright, between the cinder block and the building’s floor support, before the girls took turns trying to get to their prey.

I can’t be mad at either one of the girls.  They were just dogs being dogs, retrievers at that.  I tried to explain to Shadow that I wasn’t angry with her; that I just want her to leave the birdies alone.  Yes, I know it went in one ear and out the other.  She’s not human after all.  🙂

I’m joining the Monday Mischief Blog Hop and the #Multi Pet Mania blog hops today. A big thank you to ALL our blog hop hosts. Please visit the host and other blogs through the links below for more mischief and #multi pet mania fun.

image

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

IMG_1757

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

10 thoughts on “Gold and Black Retrievers, #MultiPet Mania

  1. Jan K says:

    It’s tough when we love all animals to accept when they do things that hurt other animals, but yes, it goes with the territory. I don’t think we’ve had many issues like this with the dogs, just because most animals stay out of our fenced in area. But when we had outdoor cats….oh boy, the stories I could tell of the poor wildlife that suffered because of that! Come to think of it, we had one episode with Samantha and a bird’s nest, even though she’s an indoor cat, she used to like to escape and sometimes wreak havoc out there!

    • My Golden Life says:

      The way I see it is that my fur-kids need to leave my feathered friends alone; BUT I know they can’t/won’t, so I won’t get angry. Grossed-out maybe, sad definitely, but not angry. 😉

  2. Cascadian Nomads Bethany Clochard says:

    Innumerable friends and neighbors have asked me why I don’t feed the birds. My answer is always that I don’t think it is nice to use feeders to bait the birds near my predator infested yard! They are our furry best friends but they are also predators. I am glad you know that Shadow, Callie and Ducky are just dogs, being dogs. I love them and my wild birds, but separately!

  3. Emmadog says:

    Thank you for joining in #MultiPetMania! Only the cats are interested in birds at our house and they are house cats, so no worries, but put a squirrel or wabbit in the yard and it is a similar story to the one you are telling here with my sisters and I. Mom is always sad when we catch a critter, but she also realizes it is our instinct and what we were born to do.

  4. somethingwagging says:

    On the other hand, retrievers have soft mouths. Although it must be frightening to find oneself in a dog’s gaping maws, I guess the birds could do worse.

    Honey only likes to chase geese. She turns around when I tell her too. But she has no idea that they’d be far more than she was prepared to cope with.

    • My Golden Life says:

      Oh yeah, geese can be nasty critters!! I remember it used to take my Mom close to a month to get the ones that lived near our rental cottage on LI’s North Fork to take bread from her nicely. (She had the patience of a saint!)

  5. 2 Brown Dawgs says:

    We work on our retrievers not chasing things unless we tell them to do so (hunting). Does not always work though. Case in point Storm v. skunk. lol

    The other day there was a bird, a finch I think, that kept hovering around our patio door window (like a humming bird but it was not a hummingbird). The bird was on the outside. Kitty on the inside. I could not believe how high kitty jumped trying to get that bird. I was sure glad there was a window between them.

    • My Golden Life says:

      When I was a kid, we had miniature poodles who loved to chase the squirrels in the back yard. One afternoon a young squirrel misjudged the distance between the branch it was on and the one it wanted to be on and landed smack in the middle between the 2 dogs. All 3 of them were so surprised that they just stood there for about 5-10 seconds looking at each other, frozen to the ground. As soon as that squirrel recovered from the shock, it took off with both dogs in hot pursuit Mom and I were watching from the kitchen window and just laughed at the whole scene. Too bad we didn’t have digital cameras back then!!

Leave a Reply

