Three Against One, And One

Once upon a Monday, this Monday to be exact, there were three dogs, a squirrel, and the dogs’ human mom.  Callie, Shadow, and Ducky were out in the yard with me, supposedly relieving themselves before hubby and I had to leave for our appointment with the tax accountant. I was cleaning up after them from earlier in the morning when suddenly Callie took off like a bat out of hell, from the very back corner of the yard to the back corner of the porch.  She ran faster than I have seen her run since before she tore the first ACL in February of 2013.

As I got closer to where the three dogs were hanging out, I heard a high-pitched yelp.  I thought it was Ducky because I’d heard her yelp like that in her sleep this morning.  When I got right up close to them, I noticed blood on the top of Shadow’s snout.  And out of the corner of my eye, I noticed a squirrel on the ground.  It looked dead to me, but the girls were fighting over possession of its tail.  I used the blade end of the pusher piece of the pooper scooper to separate the dogs and get them away from the squirrel so I could scoop him up and ditch him in the trash bin out front.  It took a few tries, but I did get the girls away from each other and the squirrel long enough to notice the squirrel’s little heart was still beating.  The girls must have noticed, too, but I wasn’t sure at that point.

When I went to push the squirrel up on the scooper, he jumped up and made a mad dash for the oak tree about two feet away from us.  He leaped on to the tree trunk, running around it to get away from Callie who had literally jumped over my foot, over some of the roots of the tree, and was trying to climb the tree after him.  And, of course, the minute they saw Callie move, Shadow and Ducky were at the base of the tree with her.  He got away this time and ran up the tree to one of the highest branches and sat there catching his breath.  And I brought the dogs inside so I could get ready to go to our appointment.

Ducky kept standing at the door, like she still had to relieve herself.  So I put her leash on her collar and took her out.  After she relieved herself and we were walking back to the porch door, I looked up into the tree.  The squirrel was still sitting up there, shaking himself off.  He was probably still trying to figure out what the hell had just happened.  Poor thing.  I bet he won’t misjudge my dogs again!

image

Well, that’s my Monday Mischief Blog Hop post for today.  Hope you got a good laugh out of it.  Now that I’m not worried about the squirrel biting the girls any more, it is kinda funny.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

7 thoughts on “Three Against One, And One

  1. Jodi says:

    Bwahaha, I don’t feel bad for that squirrel at all, he probably teased them. They’ve been known to flip the bird to dogs you know. 🙂 Glad the girls are okay. Mr. Squirrel is probably warning all of his friends.

  2. Jan K says:

    Luckily squirrels mostly stay out of our fenced in yard. I can see all heck breaking loose if something like that happened with our crew! So did the squirrel actually bite Shadow, or had one of the dogs bit the squirrel?

Leave a Reply

