A Letter to the Vet

After Ducky’s second visit to the Emergency Animal Clinic in just over three weeks, hubby and I decided it was time to switch gears. The diet had to change; my attitude toward certain prescription pet foods had to change; and we had to truly get Ducky over this illness.

My attempts to find a more-affordable food that would be both extremely bland and devoid of ingredients such as “animal digest”* only served to irritate Ducky’s gastritis to the point where it’s become a case of irritable bowel. Even though my attempts all had Ducky’s best interests at their core, they were still misguided; and I battled a case of the guilts for the past week and a half. (*Yes, “animal digest” is an actual ingredient of some of the more-affordable dog foods! And in some, it’s right at or close to the top of the list. UGH!!) Anyway, this last time, I brought the hubby with me to the vet for her follow-up-to-the-emergency-clinic-visit appointment. Even the vet winced at the suspect ingredient. And this is a man who normally doesn’t worry too much about by-products in food — his own food or his dogs’ food — and is more concerned with the lack of regulation in the nutraceutical industry.

So, now it has been ten days since that last visit to our regular vet with Ducky. She loves the prescription food that I agreed to try. No, I’m still not thrilled with the choice; BUT nothing else has worked, including the homemade diet. And if the vet is comfortable feeding it to his own dogs. Well, at this point I feel like I need to go with all of the vet’s recommendations for Ducky and her sisters.

By now you’re probably wondering about the title of this post. Understandable. As usual, it’s taken me three paragraphs to get to the point. So here IS the point: on Tuesday morning, I sent our regular vet an email thanking him for always having my dogs’ best interests at heart, for being patient with my lack of trust in certain pet food manufacturers, and for having said “I told you so” without actually saying it. I should have included a caveat that said, in effect, that my hard-headedness with respect to his food recommendations had absolutely nothing to do with my trust in him and everything to do with my lack of trust in those manufacturers. But, after nearly 15 years of being our family vet, I think he recognizes that much. This is a man who at some point last year gave me his personal mobile number in case one of my furry kids has a medical issue after office hours.

We are joining Linda at 2browndawgs and Jodi at Heart Like A Dog for this great blog hop.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click hereย to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 thoughts on “A Letter to the Vet

  1. Dakota/Caren/Cody says:

    Wonderful post and I am hoping that the vet’s recommendations for food continues to help Ducky! We are also blessed to have a vet that gave me his personal cell over 7 years ago (when my first cat was ill)…..we trust him implicitly. While many vets aren’t well-versed in nutrition (by my own vet’s admission), I would always listen to his recommendations first. My vet at one point gave me the phone number of a friend of his who IS a pet nutritionist. Wishing you the best of luck and kudos to your vet for being another one of the “great ones!”

  2. FleaByte says:

    You’ll keep us updated further, I’m sure. I’m glad this last food is working so far! Paws crossed that it continues to!

  3. 2 Brown Dawgs says:

    It sounds like you are on the right track. I have heard from several pet owners that sometimes the more expensive foods with fancy ingredients do not always agree with their dogs. We have been having a bit of problem finding a food that works for Freighter. He doesn’t have the severe issues that Ducky has, but it has occasional bouts of soft stool and he cannot put weight on even with feeding more and more food. We decided we needed to change his food now that he is an adult and we went with a food that many of our pals in the hunt test world use and guess what? It has animal digest as an ingredient. So far it seems to be working well for him. Time will tell but I gave up worrying about every little ingredient a while back. Yes I like to learn about them but I don’t stress over them.

    Thanks so much for joining the hop!

    • My Golden Life says:

      As Max said in “Grumpier Old Men”, “ya gotta stick with what works”! ๐Ÿ™‚ If it’s working for Freighter that’s all that matters. After all we’ve gone through with Ducky — and to a lesser extent with Callie and Shadow — I have had to stop stressing over some of the ingredients in the Hills/Science Diet foods and just accept the facts. The “animal digest” is really the only one I can’t get past…it just turns my stomach to even think about. But, luckily it’s not in the list for the Prescription i/d.

  4. MyBrownNewfies says:

    Great news! I can so relate in so many ways. After the vet told us what food would be best for Leroy and his condition, I cried when I looked at the ingredients. It was everything that I tried to avoid for 6 months but I was willing to try anything to get Leroy better. I took a deep breath and started feeding the food and as you know, Leroy is doing very well. His diet may not be perfect for every dog but right now it’s perfect for him and that’s all that is important! I

    • My Golden Life says:

      Hi Jen!! I was hoping you would see and comment on this post. As I swallowed my pride last week in the vet’s office, I thought of you and Leroy. And I thought of the post you had written about the food you were giving him on the vet’s recommendation. I still find myself laughing when I think of that post. Thinking of how well Leroy is doing now makes it easier for me to stop stressing over the food Ducky’s eating. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Jan K says:

    It is the best thing in the world to have a vet you trust. But that doesn’t mean you listen to him absolutely on every thing, but after trying other things that didn’t work, you tried his way. I’m so glad that it’s working. That’s the important thing. We’re all just doing the best we can with our pets, and sometimes making the right decision can be difficult, and you have to make the wrong one first. It was great of you to write that letter to your vet, I’m sure he greatly appreciated it. Our vet also gave us his mobile #, and the fact that he is always available to us is very important to me.

  6. SlimDoggy (@MySlimDoggy) says:

    I’m glad Ducky is doing better. As you know we’re kind of freaks about ingredients, but at the end of the day every dog is different and will do better or worse depending on their own digestive system. Finding the irritants and ruling the out is tricky.

  7. Jodi Stone says:

    I’m glad you found something that works for Ducky, I understand your guilt but honestly, most of us would have balked at that as well. LOL You sure as hell know I would have. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The best news is that you’ve found something that works, so stop beating yourself up. I’m envious that your bet has given you his number, mine still won’t. ;-0

    Thanks for joining the blog hop.

Leave a Reply

