A GOLDEN RETRIEVER CHRISTMAS

Every now and then you watch a movie that brings home the true meaning of Christmas. For me, that movie was Adventures of Bailey: Christmas Hero. Here’s the link to the movie’s trailer…

For those of you who, like me, had never heard of this movie, it’s about a young Golden Retriever who worries that Santa won’t bring him any presents on Christmas and his journey to find Santa to make amends.

I spent a mostly sleepless night watching movies, trying to stop my mind from racing in endless circles. I found this one in Netflix a few nights ago and added it to my list of movies to watch. Ordinarily, I don’t care for movies that humanize other animals — except cartoons — but I needed to watch something, anything to slow my mind down. So I thought what the heck, I can always back out of it if I want to. Five minutes into it, I was hooked. Of course, it helped that Bailey and his canine brother are both Golden Retrievers. 🙂 I must warn you though: you will want to have tissues available for your tears of joy.

Take some time out of your busy day to watch this “feel good” movie. I think you’ll be glad you did.

8 thoughts on “A GOLDEN RETRIEVER CHRISTMAS

  1. Jan K says:

    I love to watch a Christmas movie at the holidays. We’re going to have a nice quiet Christmas day at home this year, just us and the dogs, so that might be the perfect time to watch this. Thanks for sharing, but sorry to hear that you have trouble sleeping. 😦

    • The Golden Life says:

      Hi Jan! We are also having a quiet Christmas of just the dogs and us. Getting together with “the kids” day after. I think you’ll enjoy the movie. Every now I and then a sleepless night happens. Not worried about it. It has been cold (for here) and damp all day, so homemade veggie-beef soup for dinner was perfect excuse to stay home and recover. 🙂

      • Jan K says:

        We’re having my family over the day after Christmas. Last Saturday we went to the hubby’s family in Mass. The quiet day at home will be so nice! We found the movie through Amazon (somehow we can get it from amazon to our TV).
        I get those sleepless nights every so often too. It’s no fun but I don’t worry much about it either.

  2. somethingwagging says:

    What lovely dogs in that movie! I think I’d have to watch it with the sound turned down because I couldn’t pay attention to the plot while I was wondering how those dogs traveled all over without a groomer and never got mats behind their ears or overgrown muppet paws.

    Sorry you had racing thoughts. It’s not fun, is it?

    I have a favorite CD of Kathleen Battle singing lullabies with jazz accompaniment (So Many Stars) that calms me right down.

    Hope you, Sam, and the girls are enjoying a quiet and restful season.

    • The Golden Life says:

      Now, Pam, we all know that dogs in the movies are always perfectly groomed even when they’ve been “running wild”. LOL

      No, racing thoughts aren’t much fun at all. But I find that watching a movie usually helps. And, thankfully, that was the only night in quite a while — and none since.

      Hope you, Mike, and Honey are enjoying this holiday season as well!.

Leave a Reply

