Too Much Time and Too Little To Do

Have you ever had TOO much time on your hands?  I mean to the point of having your routine turned upside-down and inside-out so that all the things you wanted to get done just kinda fell by the wayside?  Well, that happened to me about two and a half weeks ago when hubby retired from a job he had come to hate.

Yup, after nearly 14 years, hubby decided he’d had enough of getting up at 6:30 every Monday through Friday to go to a job he couldn’t stand any more.  I understand completely how he felt because that was the way I felt about my job by the time the company laid us off (even though to this day they refuse to call it a “lay off”).  Now that he’s home all day, every day, my routine  been totally messed up.  No details, but let’s say I’m trying very hard to adjust so we don’t end up in divorce court.  Smile

So, with my routine all screwed up, I haven’t done much blogging lately.  In fact, my last post was about two weeks ago for the “Dumb Ass Dog Owners” blog hop, titled “Getting Revenge on the Duchess” which can be found here.  Truth be known, I’ve felt a bit overwhelmed by the idea of coming up with ideas for posts.  Probably because  I’ve become so used to not having to do much of anything else.  And, in order to maintain my sanity I’ve had to take Callie and Shadow out in the backyard a lot more often to get away from the freakin television, which now seems to be “on” a minimum of sixteen hours a day.  Not on the easy listening music channel, at a comfortable level that I could tolerate, but the news or sports, neither of which I can stand and normally at a decibel high enough for the next-door neighbors to hear through closed doors and windows.

Anyway, just a quick update on the dogs:  Callie is healing nicely from her ACL surgery in October and already trying to do things on her own that she’s not supposed to do.  Like going up and down the steps on her own, playing with her sisters, and happy dances on the linoleum floor in the kitchen.  (I had to grab her the other day to keep her from falling.)  Ducky is behaving much better since I started working with her again a few months ago. She and Shadow had a growling fest at the kitchen door the other night when I was getting ready to feed them; but I didn’t see who started it so I just put an end to it and left it at that.  Sam said he didn’t think Ducky started it, but he didn’t see it start either so I just dropped it.

Well, that’s it for me today. This is my contribution to the Barks and Bytes Blog Hop, hosted by Heart Like A Dog and 2 Brown Dawgs. Hope y’all have a great day!  Time for me to get a bowl of ice cream and interact with the other half. 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “Too Much Time and Too Little To Do

  1. 2 Brown Dawgs says:

    It is nice to see you back again and joining the hop. 🙂 I have to laugh about the growling at the door. We get those here too. Usually it is Saint Thunder that starts it….lol. I say that because people always want to blame Freighter because Thunder is so sweet. He is sweet but he will start crap with Freighter from time to time. I am happy to hear Callie is healing well. You and your hubby need to find a hobby together.

  2. Jan K says:

    Oh gosh, I kind of hope my hubby never retires….I like my routine on the days I am home and he is not! LOL And he loves to have the TV on all day too, and that also drives me crazy. I like to watch or listen to the news, but not 24/7!
    Since starting the blog, I almost never have time on my hands. But sometimes when I’m more or less caught up on things and have time to do some extra stuff I’ve wanted to get to….I find myself very unmotivated and often end up doing nothing!

    • The Golden Life says:

      Oh, Jan, thank you for the moral support! In hubby’s defense, he has promised that come January he WILL start leaving the TV off when reading his books. Only problem is, I LIKE having the music channel on “easy listening” during the day, turned down low enough for me to just know that it’s on without it being distracting. It’s gonna be “interesting”!

  3. Jodi says:

    Well of course I’m way behind. I am blaming it on the Advent Calendar promotion rather than my laziness. Glad things are going okay. Hang in there. And thanks for joining the hop!

  4. avsweb1 says:

    Thanks for liking my post. You blog is great! I had a friend years ago, who had 5 full grown golden retrievers running around her house. I am now following your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

