HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEET SHADOW!!

Today is my sweet Shadow’s 10th birthday. What better way to celebrate Barks and Bytes Thursday than with my sweet birthday girl?!

We have been truly blessed with all of our dogs, but each one has been special in her own way. Shadow is my “Munchkin Retriever”. I gave her that nickname (one) because she has always been slightly smaller than sibling Callie and littermate Emma; and (two) because she’s as sweet as the people from Munchkin Land in “The Wizard of Oz”.

Today is a little bittersweet, too, because at some point during the day, I have always sent birthday greetings for Emma to my friends Tom & Beth. We even celebrated one or two of the birthdays together when Emma and Shadow were younger. It just doesn’t feel right to not be able to send those greetings for Emma any more. 😢. So, Emma, if you can hear me up there in doggie Heaven, Happy Birthday Sweetie.

Back to Shadow, though. Since Callie is having her second ACL surgery today (on her left knee this time), I decided to take advantage of a rare opportunity to spend time with just Shadow. I took Ducky to daycare, and then came home and took Shadow to the park for a nice walk. We walked for about twenty minutes, took a ten-minute rest at one of the benches, and then a ten-minute walk back to the car. When we got home, I cleaned up the back yard and played a ten-minute game of fetch with her. She won’t need a walk on the treadmill today, that’s for sure! She just went into the bathroom to sleep on the (cool) linoleum floor. I hope she enjoyed our one-on-one time today! She will probably want to sleep on the bed tonight while I watch a Bogie & Bacall movie. She misses her big sister.

IMG_0011.JPG

Welcome to Thursday’s Barks and Bytes Blog hop hosted by 2 Brown Dogs and Heart Like a Dog

The Barks and Bytes hop is for anything at all and all bloggers are welcome. You don’t have to be a dog blog to join.

For new blog hoppers, a blog hop is list of links that is shared on multiple blogs. In order to be fair to all participants we ask you to please use the linky list. If your blog does not support a linky list, please link back to your hosts.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEET SHADOW!!

  1. Jan K says:

    Happy, Happy, Birthday, Shadow!! How do our little girls grow up so fast? I think one on one time with Mom is a perfect way to spend her birthday.
    I am sure Emma has heard your wishes….I know how tough it is when their siblings are gone. It will be tough for us when Sheba turns 10 and her brother Moses is not here to share that with her (as well as her brother George who belonged to friends of ours).
    Also, I hope all goes well with Callie’s surgery.

  2. Sue says:

    Time with mama alone? Oh dog! I’m betting Shadow thinks that’s the very best part of her day. Happy birthday, Shadow! And best wishes to Callie on her surgery and recovery.

  3. The Golden Life says:

    On Shadow’s behalf, I’d like to say thank you for all the wonderful birthday wishes. My sweet girl enjoyed our alone time today, but she missed her big sister very much. She’s asleep on the floor next to my side of the bed. And thank you for all the well wishes for Callie’s surgery. She came through it like the trooper she is, and will most likely be coming home tomorrow. Shadow will be happy and smiling again!

Leave a Reply

