What’s NOT To Love?!

Oz the Terrier and his Mom came up with a great topic for our third WOOF Support Blog Hop! “What do you love about your reactive dog?” It’s a great way to concentrate on the positives of having/handling a reactive dog. It can be all too easy at times to get caught up in the negative side of life. So, with that said, I will move on to what I love about my reactive dog, Ducky.

As my title says, “what’s NOT to love?!”
At home, especially, Ducky is one of the sweetest, most affectionate dogs I’ve ever lived with. She will jump up in our laps and smother us with slobbery kisses. Or, she’ll be chewing on a Nylabone barbell toy and suddenly flop over on her side and go to sleep. It’s so cute that you can’t help but feel your heart expand.

Sleeping Demon

She will be curled up in the corner of the couch nearest to my recliner and suddenly rest her head on the couch’s arm rest and look at me with so much love in her eyes.

20140328-235930.jpg

After getting into a growling, snarling match with her sister, Shadow, she will go to Shadow and submissively lick her lips or her face. It’s as if she’s saying “I’m sorry, Shadow. I ruv you.” And all is right in their lives again.

Ducky’s personality is all Corgi. She’s a talker, a grumbler, a bossy little stinker. She grumbles up a storm when hubby or I disturb her naps. Oh. My. Dog! You would think we were burglars in the house! It’s funny now that we’re used to it, but there was a time when it provoked an impatient tirade from hubby. He still gets annoyed at times if she gets too loud, but for the most part I can’t help but smile or even laugh.

Ducky cracks us up when she scratches her back on the carpet! She wiggles and wriggles and growls and grumbles. And she loves when I put my hand on her belly or use my hand to gently turn her head from side to side. She loves to nip at our toes and hands in play. Sometimes she nips a bit too hard and it hurts. But when we cry “ouch!” she stops and looks at us before going back to the game. And the funniest thing is that whenever Callie and Shadow scratch their backs on the carpet, Ducky grumbles at them for disturbing her.  (Sorry, there’s some background noise from the TV on the video clip; and I’m not sure of how to get rid of it.)

 

What’s not to love about my little demon dog? She loves us. She loves her big sisters. She loves life. She makes us laugh every day. She rescued us from a ho-hum, sedentary life when we rescued her from the shelter. She makes Callie and Shadow get up and play with her, gets them to chase her around the yard or help her chase the neighbors’ cat out of our yard or a squirrel up a tree. She goes up to them both and licks their face. And she lets Callie clean her face occasionally.

WoofBlogHop1

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 thoughts on “What’s NOT To Love?!

    • The Golden Life says:

      Hi! I’m still having connection issues, so linking up to the hop has been a challenge (to say the least) for both the act of linking itself and (especially) my patience. While I still have a connection I’m going to try again.

  1. Jan K says:

    She’s a nut! I love the look on her face at the end of the video just before she barks. Too cute. Your title really does say it all, and what could be better than a dog that makes you smile or laugh every day? She seems like the perfect dog for you and your family.
    Thanks for joining the hop (especially since it sounds like it was challenging to do so from a technical aspect)!

    • The Golden Life says:

      Hi Jan! She is definitely a nut, and sometimes she makes us nuts; but we love her just the way she is.

      This connection issue has really done a number on my posting capabilities. But there IS an end in sight, in about 2 weeks.

  2. Jodi says:

    I really liked the theme of this blog hop, of course as your title says, “what’s not to love?” Despite the challenges she’s a very lovely dog and you’ll be amazed at the difference in a couple of years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

