“Time In A Bottle”

Back in the early 70’s, there was a popular song by Jim Croce titled “Time In A Bottle”. One of the lines went something like this: “If I could save time in a bottle, I’d save all my moments with you.”  I’ve always liked that song; but until this morning, I had not given it much thought these last 20 years or so. Truthfully, I’m not sure why it popped into my head today. Still, it’s a perfect description of my bond with each of my dogs including my beloved poodle, Kissy, who is waiting for me at the Rainbow Bridge.

The bond I share with each of my current dogs is as unique as the dog herself…

Callie is my “Pack Assistant”. She is my oldest “fur-child”. As a puppy she was easy to house train for the most part. She loved to curl up next to me on the couch or in my husband’s lap. And, she loved to play. As the oldest pup in her litter, she was the peacemaker when any of her siblings got into tussles. She carried that role of peacemaker into our lives when Ducky joined the family and “picked fights with” Shadow. Callie is my self-confident dog. She knows we love her and is content to just be near us.

20140225-154734.jpg

Shadow is my middle “fur-child”. While only six months younger than Callie, she enjoys the motherly attention and protection that Callie has bestowed upon her since we first brought her home from the breeder. Shadow is my “needy” dog. If we wanted to pet and love on her 24/7, she would gladly accept the attention. Especially since Ducky joined the family. Shadow was “the baby” for nearly eight years and craved the attention and other percs that status provides. She gets a little jealous when Ducky gets some of it now. I do my best to give her the same amount of love and attention that I always have, but in her eyes I probably fall short (except when Ducky’s at daycare).

20140225-155016.jpg

Ducky is my shelter puppy. My resource-guarding, territorial, anxious, shelter puppy. Our vet calls her our “special needs dog”. She has “grown up” a bit in the last year. While the resource guarding and anxieties may always be a part of her, I’ve learned how to work with her. She is a quick learner when it comes to “obedience” cues. She just gets distracted easily. Ducky, more than either of her sisters, has taught me to be more patient. She has her anxious moments; but she also has more calm moments than she did even a few months ago. And she loves us unconditionally, just as we love her.

20140225-155144.jpg

If I could save time in a bottle, I’d save every precious moment I’ve had with my girls. And every moment yet to come. They have each left their paw prints on my heart and soul. They are a part of me. I will love and treasure them forever just as I do Kissy.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

6 thoughts on ““Time In A Bottle”

  1. Donna O. says:

    Loved this post Sue. And I so know what you mean. My bond with each of my dogs is very unique, as are their personalities. 🙂

    And now I have that song stuck in my head. LOL!

  2. Nature by Dawn says:

    So sweet! They are all so very different, aren’t they? I think it’s funny how you say Ducky is your special needs dog. Sometimes I feel like Pierson is my special needs dog. But working with him has been a great bonding experience.

    • The Golden Life says:

      Actually, it’s our vet who calls Ducky our special needs dog; but I don’t mind. She is what she is and we’ve accepted her as is … but working with her has definitely been a wonderful bonding experience, albeit challenging at times to my patience.

  3. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Great post! I loved that song when I was growing up. Ok, so that dates me, huh! I received your picture of Ducky…I think! I’m not just imagining that am I? I need to go check my emails!

    • The Golden Life says:

      Hi Lisa! Yes, you did get the picture of Ducky. I’m still working on my post for you…will get it to you some time this afternoon.

      I tried to send you a reply last night, but the Internet went down JUST after your comment came through. It was a service outtage in the area, so there was nothing I could do about it. I know you know what that’s like!

Leave a Reply

