HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DUCKY!!!

Today is my baby girl’s 2nd birthday. Well, at least it’s the day the shelter staff estimated to be … one year and nine months ago she was picked up as a stray by Animal Control and taken to the county shelter, where the staff estimated she was 3 months old.

A little more than 3 months later, I brought her home with me for the weekend. This is what she looked like then…

20140213-164245.jpg

She wrapped us both around her little paws; and while we didn’t adopt her until nearly a month later, I couldn’t let her languish at the shelter. I checked on her almost every day. Then I saw her on the “urgent” list and adopted her that very day. She and I had bonded during the weeks that I had worked with her at the shelter. When the Rescue Coordinator brought her out to me, she started wagging her tail a mile a minute. She was a happy puppy.

My sweet Ducky has her share of issues, exacerbated by the time spent living at the shelter, but she is happy and sweet with us. She knows we are her furever family. And she knows we love her unconditionally.

Here’s a picture of Ducky as she is now. I took it yesterday while I was playing with her.

20140213-170311.jpg

No party hats or costumes. Ducky wouldn’t like them. Just a lot of loving energy permeating the house.

Happy Birthday, Ducky! Daddy, Callie, Shadow, and I love you unconditionally.

8 thoughts on “HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DUCKY!!!

  1. Jodi says:

    She doesn’t look to me like she’s changed much physically Sue, but I know she’s grown by leaps and bounds in all areas. Great job!! And Happy belated B’day to Ducky.

    • The Golden Life says:

      Aw, thanks, Jodi! This means a lot coming from folks like you, who know what Ducky-Doodle has put me through! She really has come a L O N G way since we adopted/rescued her in 2012!

      As for physical changes — it’s hard to tell from the pix, but her body has gotten much longer. And, her ears look more proportionate to the rest of her. I think her legs got a bit longer, too. Her head is still smaller than I expected, but that’s okay.

Leave a Reply

