Thursday Barks and Bytes — Just A Few Thoughts

While I wait for the timer on the kitchen stove to tell me it’s time to go to my doctor’s appointment — just a routine lab follow-up — I thought I’d get started on my post for the first “Thursday Barks and Bytes” blog hop hosted by my friends Jodi of Heart Like A Dog and Linda of 2 Brown Dawgs

Well, all my well-laid plans and intentions to publish a post yesterday for the inaugural edition of the “Thursday Barks and Bytes” blog hop took a wrong turn when I couldn’t find the picture I wanted to share. Then it took yet another wrong turn when I accidentally deleted half three-quarters of the words I had typed while waiting for the doctor to join me in the exam room. Needless to say, I was NOT a happy camper when I realized what I had just done; especially since it was close to time to go pick up Ducky at daycare. So, I just gave up. I knew I wouldn’t have time to retype everything I’d deleted. And even less time to hunt down the aforementioned picture. So, I re-checked Jodi’s post to find the linky list closing time and decided to try again today, after I got some schoolwork done. So, here I am.

The Hump – Ducky Style

My first thought here is about my silly, lovable, little demon dog, Ducky.  After more than a year at doggie daycare, she still hasn’t figured out “the hump”.  At least not when it comes to her sisters.  The folks at daycare tell me they have not been witnesses to her attempts to hump any of her doggie friends, so we’re not sure she’s even tried.  But when she was tries to hump Callie, it is the funniest thing I’ve ever seen any of my dogs try in all my 60+ years.  Here’s a picture.  It’s not a great good picture, but I think it’s at least clear enough for you to see why hubby and I almost peed ourselves the first time we saw it.  Now that we’re used to it, we still laugh but with some control.  I know it’s a horrible-quality picture, but I had to share it from my Snapfish account to my WordPress blog and then copy/paste it from its own post to this post.  Just so you know, that blob of orangey-red that Ducky is trying to hump is Callie, lying on her side on the living room floor.

Back to School Again

Some of you may recall that I — like Lauren over at Life with Desmond — enrolled in and completed the dog obedience training instructor course offered by the Animal Behavior College last year and earned my certification from the school. Well, when I signed up originally, I also signed up for a few of their Continuing Education Program (CEP) courses. I had started studying the material for the first of the three courses in July, but then hubby’s urologist decided that his PSA test results were too erratic and referred him to an oncologist for possible chemotherapy. To make a long story much shorter, Sam and I decided to go with the recommended treatment regimen, which lasted through the beginning of September. By the time Sam was feeling fewer effects from the chemo, it was almost Thanksgiving, so I knew it was useless to try to get back into a studying routine. I called my Program Manager and we rescheduled my final test date to the middle of June, 2014. I will probably be ready to take the test for this first course in about two weeks. Who knows, maybe I’ll even finish the other two courses as well before June.

Updating/Redesigning/Renaming My Blog

I’ve been trying to figure out how to do the above, with no success. I paid WordPress for making it mine, and mine alone, but beyond that I have NO IDEA what to do next or how to do it. I’ve already promised the job of creating a new header for me to AJ Em…all I have to do is get her some pictures of the girls and an idea of what I want, but time keeps getting away from me. (Sorry, AJ.). Then there’s the question of what I actually want to include in the blog. Do I want to make it a personal website, including the blog? OR, do I just want it to be a personal journal of life with my three furry kids that I share with all of you? What I DON’T want is to create a monster that I get bored with, so no product reviews unless I become so enamored with a particular one that I want to share my opinion with you about it. Haven’t decided yet about copywrite vs creative commons license. (I might be asking some of you for guidance on this.)

Well those are my “barks and bytes” for this week. I hope you, too, will join the hop if you haven’t already! Just grab the badge from Jodi’s or Linda’s post.

Resized B and B

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

10 thoughts on “Thursday Barks and Bytes — Just A Few Thoughts

  1. Donna and the Dogs says:

    Hey there…doing a bit of catch up today and wanted to check in and say “HI!”

    Sorry you deleted your original work, I’ve done things like that and it ALWAYS leads to cursing. Better to put it aside for a day like you did than to chuck the computer across the room.

    I never realized your husband wasn’t well – I hope the chemo did the trick and that his numbers have come down on his PSA tests. Certainly a valid reason to put aside your dog training course goals. Glad to hear your hubby is feeling better as far as the chemo is concerned and that you are now getting back on track.

    Good luck figuring out what to do with the blog. I’ve been wanting a facelift on mine too, but have no idea WHAT I want yet either…so I figure I’ll leave it be until I have some sort of epiphany. LOL! I’m sure whatever you eventually choose will be great though. 🙂

  2. Nature by Dawn says:

    Don’t you just hate it when you delete your work! Ugh!!! I did that the other day, but with a graphic I was working on. Ducky is so funny with that humping. Maya and Pierson have both done it when they’ve gotten a little too excited, but neither of them try it regularly. Also, about your paid wordpress version, I want to do it too. Can you email me to tell me how you did it and how it went for you? I need to know if I will lose my previous blog posts when I do it and if I can now add coding. Thanks! 🙂

  3. 2browndawgs says:

    I am really glad that you were able to link up to Barks and Bytes. A couple Fridays ago I deleted most of my post, I wanted to cry…lol. 🙂 Sorry I didn’t get here earlier, (I usually try to check the links a couple of times before it closes, but guess I didn’t :)). I am glad that Freighter is mostly over that humping stage. Of course he has Storm to tell him no way….lol…she definitely takes a different approach than Calli. Best of luck with your school work and blog redesign. 🙂

  4. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Just stopping by to say hi! Funny that you talk about humping in your post! Ash is in heat and Scout is going after her but Teddy is going after Scout. It’s kind of strange as Teddy is a boy and he has no interest in Ash and she is the one in heat! Strange dog! I’ve been contemplating a change in my blog. I want to try another theme but am scared to do anything to it! Have a great week!

    • The Golden Life says:

      Me too, Lisa!! But I was thinking if I come up with a theme/layout I like, maybe I can work around some of the “premium” themes WP offers. Then my only question will be “how do I transfer the current blog to the new one?” I think Jodi @ Heart Like A Dog can probably walk me thru that. But I’m FAR from ready for that step!

  5. Jodi says:

    Hi Sue, thanks for joining us on the Barks and Bytes Blog hop. I’m sorry to hear that Sam is having problems but I hope it’s all under control now!

    As for Ducky, well it looks to me like she’s taking a dump. 🙂 I would probably laugh too.

    The blog? That’s tough, I say try playing with some themes and colors and then there is nothing wrong in changing it. Your blog will grow with you and is always ready to change. 🙂 If I can help in any way, give me a shout. 🙂

Leave a Reply

