FOLLOW UP FRIDAY

We are proud to be joining this week’s edition of Follow-Up Friday, the blog hop that lets you wrap up your week and leads you right into the weekend.

follow-up-friday-300x155_thumb.jpg

Happy First Gotcha Day Ducky

Ducky’s first Gotcha Day went very well.  I hadn’t gotten much sleep on Monday night, so I decided to keep Ducky home from daycare the whole day.  We spent a good amount of time in the back yard so the dogs could get their exercise running around chasing each other and squirrels, not to mention the fresh air.  During the entire day Ducky only growled at Shadow one time.  I calmly put my hand around Ducky’s snout and said “none of that” while Shadow turned away from Ducky and laid down.  As soon as I released my hold, Ducky went to Shadow and submissively licked her lower lip then walked away.

Vacuum Cleaner Woes

So, I did finally buy the SEBO X-4 Upright. I have been using it now for about six weeks and I must say that I am very happy with it. Once I got used to the electronic controls, the lights that flash momentarily as I use the vacuum, and the different feel of the vacuum handle and the sound it makes, I decided I had made the right choice for me. About the only thing I can think of that I would change is the way the cord is stored on the machine. While storage of the cord is basically convenient when the machine is not in use, it is a different story during use. With the Oreck, the cord pretty much stayed put no matter how much of it I unwound. I could vacuum a small area without worrying about tripping over the cord. With my SEBO, the cord unwinds with every forward or backward movement of the machine. Depending on my mood of the moment, it can be either a total pain in the rear end or just a small annoyance. Mitigating this though is the ease with which I can remove the roller brush, get the dog hair out of it, and then replace the brush. If the Oreck had been this easy to “self-serve”, I might still have the thing.

New Blog — Life With My Tailwaggers

All I can say about the new blog at this point is that I still haven’t made any progress. I have NO CLUE what I m going to do with it. Part of the problem is that I don’t understand all the ins and outs and jargon involved in creating a blog and/or website. And I haven’t had the chance to go through WordPress’s tutorials. I still have to get back to my studying. I inherited a trait from my father called procrastination. I think of these two tasks ahead of me and get suspended in time.

Blogger Awards

I am ashamed to say that Lisa over at Dogs N Pawz nominated me for a blogger award several weeks ago, but I can neither remember which one it was nor find it in my previous notifications. I offer no excuses, Lisa, for to me that would be tantamount to insulting your intelligence. So please accept my sincerest apologies and the following award for your patience with me….

reality-blog-award

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

10 thoughts on “FOLLOW UP FRIDAY

  1. FleaByte says:

    Your vacuum sounds interesting. We moved from a Kirby to a Dyson. Our first dog destroyed our Kirby slowly, over ten years. So far we’ve had the Dyson nearly seven years. I’m not happy with its cord either. But it works great.

  2. Heart Like A Dog (@HeartLikeADog) says:

    hey Sue, thanks for joining the blog hop!! It sounds like Ducky had a real nice gotcha day. 😀

    Interesting vacuum, I have a Dyson and I’m quite happy with it, I don’t think I could deal with all the issues of the power cord.

    As for the blog, I am looking to redesign mine too, but have no clue where to begin.

  3. Dogs N Pawz says:

    We have a Dyson too and I really like it. I totally understand about the award and thank you for all of your kind comments during our traumatic time with Phe. I truly appreciate your friendship and you will never know how much you have helped me get through all of this. Have a great weekend.

  4. Gizmo says:

    I’m sure that Ducky thought being with you all day was the best Gotcha Gift…Interesting about the SEBO…seems like there’s always something that keeps an appliance from being “perfect”…and when the time is right, the plan for the new blog will unfold itself so meantime don’t stress…it’s like me and my new blog theme…I’m waiting for the right one to present itself

  5. Donna and the Dogs says:

    Good that Shadow turns away from Ducky, it makes it so much easier when one of them is submissive. That’s my Toby too, if one of the girls is being bitchy, he just ignores them. Now, if one of the girls gets bitchy with the other one, I have an issue, so I have to stay on top of them too.

    So glad to hear that you are happy with the new vacuum. It’s always a crap-shoot when you buy a new appliance – and nice when it works out!

    Unfortunately, I’ve got no advice for you about how to set up the new blog. If I didn’t have Nick, I’d be screwed.

    • The Golden Life says:

      Well, actually, Callie is the one who has always turned her head to give the younger ones a “chance” to take whatever it is that they want. But over the last few months, Shadow has been taking her cues from Callie to avoid “arguments” with Ducky. It’s not so much submission to Ducky as it is a desire to make Mom happy; and she knows that Mom is happiest when all 3 of her kids are getting along. 🙂 Shadow has almost always been submissive to Callie, but until recently has always told Ducky to take a hike. I guess she’s just learning how to pick the worthwhile “fights”. But I still keep an eye and ear open for trouble.

Leave a Reply

