Time to Come Inside

Going outside this morning was actually a pleasure — at first.  When I took the girls out in the yard for their first potty break of the day at 7:45, the air was dry, and even a little on the cool side.  And bug free. So, when I took Ducky to daycare, I drove all the way down there and back with the car windows open.

After enjoying my coffee, it was time for Callie and Shadow to go out again, so I grabbed my iPod Touch and out to the back yard we went.  I sat in one of the deck chairs in the carport and watched my Golden Girls run around the yard for a few minutes and then settle down for a nap in the sun.

There were gnats flying around everywhere, but I brushed them away with my hand.  I figured if my dogs weren’t bothered by them, I could tolerate them too.  At least for a little while longer.  So I uncrossed and recrossed my legs and went back to checking some of my friends’ Facebook posts.

Suddenly, out of nowhere, I feel this light bump hit my head and hear a buzzing sound simultaneously as some big, fat bug flies off to who knows where.  WTF?!  Okay, the gnats I can tolerate; but I draw the line at being smacked backside the head by some giant, fat, buzzing bug on its way to wherever.  And, to add insult to injury, a damn mosquito lands on my leg, just above my foot!  WHACK!  “I got ya, you little blood sucker!!”  (That’s one less pest in my world!)  At that point it was Time To Come Inside.  Callie and Shadow would have preferred to soak up more sun, but thanks to neighbors who cannot be trusted, we don’t let them or Ducky stay out in the yard without one of us to keep an eye on things.  In some ways it’s probably a good thing that we are so protective.

Have A Tail-Wagging Day!!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “Time to Come Inside

  1. somethingwagging says:

    My husband would agree with you. Big butt bugs are a sign to come in.

    Me? I’m actually quite chilly working on the front porch but it’s summer so even if it’s cool and breezy I’m staying outside no matter what. Same for bugs.

    Summer is too short up here to not enjoy every moment of it–even if I’m not enjoying it. 🙂

    Luckily Honey is happy to keep me company. Tell Callie and Shadow they’re welcome to join us. 🙂

  2. Gizmo says:

    All the rain is making this a killer mosquito season…They’re coming in every time I open the door…And the fat black houseflies too…Those provide endless amusement as Gizmo has a great time chasing them around the house and they’re so slow he can actually catch them

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      I hope he doesn’t swallow them! That would gross me out! Ducky chases the gnats, or she’ll stare at them for a minute and then bark at them. Quite the little comedians we have, huh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

