Ducky Graduates

I’m writing this post from my iPod and so have no access to the “This ‘N That Thursday” badge or the Linky tool to the blog hop. Maybe someone will see it and link me up.

Tonight is just a little of this and no that.

Ducky has graduated. No more playing with the Kong Wobbler to get at her food. She’s a big girl now and it’s time she started eating out of a big girl’s food bowl. She did well this morning; great tonight. She has learned to eat at a pace that won’t upset her tummy.

20130718-200438.jpg

She looks a little tense in this picture, but she was waiting for me to close the kitchen door so she could eat in peace.
Picky little girl.

17 thoughts on “Ducky Graduates

  1. Jodi says:

    I’m curious. Is there a reason you aren’t letting her eat out of the food toy anymore? I’ve heard that it is good for an active dog.

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      It’s not that I’m not letting her, it’s more a matter of Ducky seeming to be bored with the Wobbler, or at least having to push it around to get her food. I’ve noticed over this past week that after a few pushes, she looks for other things to do instead. This morning I decided to put what was left of her food in the bowl just to see if she’d finish eating it. She went right to the bowl and ate, but at a much slower pace than when she first started eating out of the Wobbler.

      I guess time will tell if she’s truly ready for the change; but for now I’ll stick with what works.

  2. Donna says:

    That’s great! Congrats on teaching her to eat slow. Toby is almost eleven and he STILL eats as if he’s never been fed before. πŸ™‚

  3. Dogs N Pawz says:

    I’m so excited! I found your blog! I had looked and looked for it thinking that after you had left a few comments on my blog that surely you had a blog, but I couldn’t link up from my blog. Jodi from over at Heart Like A Dog put one of your comments on her post today and had your link! Yay Jodi! I will be back to visit and thank you for stopping my blog!

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      WOW! Thank you for the compliment!! Your blog and website are so much more — what’s the word, darn it? — involved than mine, so I’m humbled by your excitement at finding me/my blog!! I really post to my blog as a means of journaling my life with these three canine loves-of-my-life. One of these days, I might add a page dedicated to their predecessor, Kissy, who was my only reason for living before I met my husband. It’s just so hard to write about her without having to take tissue breaks, even now, nearly 10 years after she crossed over the Rainbow Bridge. Thanks again, and I look forward to reading more of your posts!

      • The Golden Life says:

        OMD! I got sidetracked after I read your comment and never thanked you for the award! I am SOOOOOOOO sorry! Very impolite of me!! I haven’t posted anything in over two weeks, and things have been so crazy around here I lost track of EVERYTHING I needed to do! Good Dog only knows how I’m going to get caught up! Please don’t hate me or “un-friend” me….just be patient with me and I’ll get caught up sooner or later (probably later). Thanks again, my friend!!

        Sue

  4. Gizmo says:

    Interesting that Ducky likes to eat in private….When we’re visiting with other dogs Gizmo is first one to his food bowl but at home he waits just outside the kitchen and won’t eat till I leave the room…dogs can be so weird

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      And Ducky won’t eat unless I’m in the kitchen with her…she will growl at Shadow and chase her out of the kitchen, but she wants ME in there. (Callie prefers to come back out to the living room and lay down when she’s finished eating.) Like you said…. πŸ™‚

  5. rubytheblacklabrador says:

    Ruby used to have a kong wobbler but ended up getting a scrape on her nose that took ages to heal because she was so impatient! Now we scatter her kibble on the ground so she searches it out and it slows her down πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

