Inspired By GoldenWoofs

I’m participating in Sugar’s “Tasty Tuesday” Blog Hop today for the very first time.  It may also be the last, but only because I’m usually not very creative in the kitchen when it comes to treats for either my dogs or my hubby and me.  I just wanted to share a little frozen treat I came up with for the dogs.  But first, here’s Sugar’s “Tasty Tuesday” “badge”…

SGRTTBadgejpg

Okay, so I’ve admitted to my lack of creativity when it comes to treats…actually, I’m not that creative in the kitchen in general, period.  But a few weeks ago our mutual friend, Sugar, inspired me to try something new.  So, I found and bought some of those paw-shape silicone ice cube trays on the Animal Rescue (Greater Good) store website so I could make some cold treats for Callie, Shadow, and Ducky.  Here’s a picture of them still in the tray.  They don’t look all that appealing to me, but my dogs like them….

Frozen Paw Treats

I wish now that I had been able to take a picture of Callie and Shadow trying to figure out how to eat them the first time I gave them each one.  They wanted to lick the peanut butter, but it was frozen solid.  And Ducky was getting impatient to be given hers.  So, I had to have hubby call Ducky into the living room and hold her there while I put Callie’s and Shadow’s treats on opposite sides of the kitchen floor.  Then I brought Ducky’s treat to her… smart girl just took it from me, walked over to the dog bed, layed down and started crunching her treat until it was all gone.  Meanwhile, back in the kitchen, Shadow must have heard Ducky crunching because she started to crunch on hers.  But Callie laid down on the floor and licked away at the peanut butter.  When the treat was just about melting, she picked it up with her teeth and gnawed at it till it melted in her mouth.  Then she ate the piece of banana that was in the middle. 

Here’s how I made the treats….

I put about a half teaspoon of plain Greek Yogurt in the bottom of the molds and stuck the tray in the freezer for about an hour, then I put thinly-sliced pieces of banana on top and a droplet of honey and stuck the tray back in the freezer for another half hour.  Then I put a quarter teaspoon of Jif Extra Crunchy peanut butter on top of each treat and stuck the tray back in the freezer for another hour.  (Normally I would use natural peanut butter, but I didn’t have any so I figured the little bit of Jif wouldn’t hurt them.)  I haven’t tried one myself, but only because I don’t care much for yogurt, especially plain yogurt.  Callie, Shadow, and Ducky like them so that’s all that matters to this Dog Mom.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “Inspired By GoldenWoofs

  1. SUGAR: Golden Woofs says:

    PAWsome! There’s a reason why you bought that paw mold … so glad you finally joined Tasty Tuesday hop. So glad they enjoyed it. Mom did 3 treats with Greek yogurt and not so happy with the consistency on how they freeze. The plain smooth yogurt has a better taste too … well I share my frosty treats with her. We are having a hop contest … hope you join in. Happy Tasty Tuesday. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      The ones I got from the Animal Rescue Site store are a good, small size … about 1-1/2″ x 1-1/2″ x maybe 3/4 or 1″ deep. They make treats small enough for Ducky to “handle” easily.

  2. Gizmo says:

    Just checked the Animal Rescue site and don’t you know those trays are sold out! Have to keep checking back cause they’re the right size for Gizmo

Leave a Reply

