Vacuum Cleaner Woes

Pardon me while I vent for a moment. When I’m finished venting, I’ll have a few questions for you.

I should be vacuuming the house right now instead of spending time on the iPod. BUT I hate my vacuum cleaner. (Yes, Pamela, I said “hate”. ๐Ÿ˜›) When I first bought it seven years ago, it was a good little machine. But for the past year it has become a royal pain in the derriรจre! EVERY time I vacuum A room in the house (as in one, uno, eins, un), I have to turn the stupid thing over and literally pull dog hair out of both sides of the roller! To say the least, it’s annoying. I hate housework as it is so the extra time I have to spend makes me impatient to say the least. And yes, I do brush Callie & Shadow out regularly, but they still shed like crazy. But in this house at least, no outfit is complete without dog hair.

Okay, so I vented my frustration. Now for the questions — mainly for those of you who have long-haired dogs or have had in the past…

1. How often do you vacuum?
2. Do you have to clean out the roller on your vacuum constantly, too?
3. If your vacuum does a great job, what brand and type (upright, canister, bagless) is it?
4. If your vacuum does a great job, about how old is it? How often do you have to take it in for tune-ups/repairs?

I was thinking of “googling” vacuum cleaners; but I know every vacuum manufacturer is only going to say how great their products are, not that they have problems with dog hair. I decided you folks were my best bet for honest appraisals of your own vacuums. My Mom always swore by Hoover. Dad’s second wife swore by those junky Sears Kenmore things that I wouldn’t spend a dime on much less a couple or few hundred bucks. My current beast is an Oreck, which I swear I will never buy again. I want one that will last more than seven years without needing more than a tune-up once a year. My Mom’s Hoovers never even needed that much; but we had Poodles, not Golden Retrievers, when I was growing up.

So, any and all responses will be greatly appreciated! I need a new vacuum FAST! Before I borrow my girlfriend’s ladies’ pistol and put this one out of my misery!

Hope y’all have a tail-wagging day!!

12 thoughts on “Vacuum Cleaner Woes

  1. grandmasmad3ringcircus says:

    I hate to vacuum too. But I think it’s because all the animals either attack it or run
    in fear. We try to vacuum everyday. I hope someone can give us the name of a brand
    to make this nasty chore a little easier!

  2. Heart Like A Dog (@HeartLikeADog) says:

    I have a Dyson specifically for animal fur. It was pricey, I want to say around $400, but we bought it at Sears and it came with a three year warranty. Around year two, I ran over the cord with the vacuum and the vacuum ate the cord. (Color me bad.) It still ran and then it didn’t. I took it back to Sears and it was still covered under the warranty even though I was the one who did the damage.

    It is going on year five I think and it just started making a funny noise, Hubby thinks it needs a new belt but he can do that. Ideally I vacuum once per week but that doesn’t always happen. I don’t have to clean the brush every time I use it, but every six months or so, you really have to get in there and dig out all the dog hair and dirt. It’s gross.

    It is an upright canister that needs to be emptied (I’d much prefer bags, but it works) after each vacuuming although I’m also bad about doing that too. Mostly I just empty it when it gets full. ๐Ÿ™‚ The filter can also be blown out with an air compressor if Sam has one of those. All in all I’d say for price factor, it wasn’t a bad investment considering how long it has lasted and how frequently it is used.

    Sorry for the lengthy comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      Hi Jodi! Thanks for the info! I don’t mind the lengthy comment — you told me what I needed to know. I had one of those bag-less beasts before I got this Oreck piece of crap and hated it. (The damn thing spit out more dirt than it picked up. I got rid of it 3 months after I bought it.) Oreck has one of those “especially for dog hair” jobs for about $700. Uhhhhh, I don’t think so!

  3. GizmoGeodog says:

    With Bruno my vacuum rollers jammed up in half a room…with Gizmo I can get through two small ones before I have to pick the hair out…I had a full size Hoover that I loved but after many years it went belly up on me…Now I’ve got a small Hoover which worked OK till one of the wheels fell off and I can’t get it to stay on anymore…I’ve been looking at new ones too…Let me know what you settle on

  4. SUGAR: Golden Woofs says:

    Mom always vacuums … not sure if she likes it (she just have too). We ahve wood floors so you can really see if there’s fur. Mom says it is easier to clean too. We have a Miele vacuum. Mom is the best investment she bought (well dad bought it). it’s a bit $$$$ but with all the attachments is works well. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  5. Donna says:

    I have a very old stand up Hoover vacuum, but it is very heavy, so I wouldn’t recommend it. Not having long haired dogs, I can’t answer your question about the rollers, but it’s funny you asked this today because my mom just ordered herself some new Deluxe vacuum on QVC that had self cleaning rollers.

    Let me go look up the link for you…

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      Self-cleaning rollers?? I want one!! But I don’t have the patience to watch QVC all day in hopes of seeing such a beast. When your Mom gets hers, would you mind letting me know the brand and model number?

Leave a Reply

