This ‘N That Follow-up

Okay, since I’ve got a lot on my plate this week, I’m going to combine my TNT and FUF posts.  I wonder if “Mr. Linky” will work this time?

Tweaking the Golden Life

I’m thinking of re-naming the blog, incorporating the other blog (Obedience Training Journal) into this one, and doing a few other things to the blog to make it easier for me to keep it all “streamlined”.  I’m just not sure of the new name yet.  And I might need some free advice/assistance when I finally get around to actually making the changes.  I have a feeling this is going to be a bigger project than I’m ready for right now.

Ducky’s GrowingUp
My  demon dog is growing up.  She is learning to treat her (much) older sisters with more of the respect they deserve.  She and Shadow haven’t had an “argument” over a toy in a long time — shush, Sue, don’t jinx it! — and she growls at Shadow for no apparent reason far less often.  She still steals the Nylabones from Callie, but Callie just lets her get away with it, like a patient “Mama Dog”.  She’s even growling and barking less at strangers at the daycare when I’m there to drop her off or pick her up.  (But she still has snit fits whenever the next-door neighbors are in their yard.  That’s okay, I don’t like them much either right now.)

Just My Golden Girls

Shadow seems to have forgotten about the tender spot on her lip where the wart used to be.  No more licking of the lips or eating gingerly to keep from aggravating it.  Thankfully, it was just a wart, caused by a virus, that probably would have gone away by itself.  I still wonder though:  Is it better to remove and biopsy them when they first “pop up”, or just watch them to be sure they don’t grow/change and have to do more invasive surgery if they do??  I just don’t have the answer right now.  I guess I’ll just wait until the next one shows up to decide.

Callie got a great report from Dr. Ritter (the surgeon who did her TPLO surgery in February) on Monday.  Her leg has healed beautifully, in fact, enough for him to release her back to our “regular” vet for related care.  Of course, I can call Dr. R. any time I have a question, but I shouldn’t need to.  He’s wonderful — I love him as much as I do Dr. Steve — it’s obvious that he loves all his patients, just as Dr. Steve does.  Every time we’ve seen him he has called Callie “Beautiful”.  And I could see genuine love and affection in his eyes for my girl.

My Studies

Now that I’ve completed my dog obedience training instructor course (and received my certificate to prove it), I have to get to work on my Continuing Ed courses.  Three of them, in fact.  I’m planning on starting on the first one this weekend, and finishing up the third one by Thanksgiving.  Then, I’ll take a break during the holidays so I can (hopefully) have a stress-free Christmas and New Year’s.  Mid-January I will sign up for and start my Vet Assistant course.  After I finish that?  I don’t know yet. To quote from my favorite old movie (Casablanca), “I never make plans that far in advance.”  (Of course, Rick was talking about the same night…)  But at least that will help me find a decent part-time job if I need one once the hubby retires.  I’m hoping that a Continuing Ed course in canine massage will become available by then, as well.

Well, that about does it for me this week. So, I’m joining 2 Brown Dawgs and Heart Like A Dog for …

this-n-that-3.jpg

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

3 thoughts on “This ‘N That Follow-up

  1. 2browndawgs says:

    Thanks so much for participating in TNT. Seems like this week has been busy for everyone. We have been having beautiful weather here this week. Hard to want to stay inside near the keyboard. 🙂

    Congrats on finishing your course!

    I really like the name of your blog, but you have to do what works for you. 🙂

  2. Donna says:

    I love the idea of combining the blogs…and why not…? They are both dog related. 🙂 Not sure of a title though…I had a hard enough time picking my own and still sometimes wonder if it’s “right” for the blog. 🙂

    Glad to hear Callie’s leg is better and Duckie’s behavior is showing signs of improvement.

    As far as the lumps, two of my dogs have a LOT of lipomas and cysts and my vet usually leaves them there…but he can diagnose them by needle aspirate…I’m not sure if that is true for a wart??? I trust my vet’s judgement though as far as the lumps are concerned.

    Congrats on finishing the dog instructor course and good luck with your future studies!

  3. Heart Like A Dog (@HeartLikeADog) says:

    You can ask for ideas, but I can’t even come up with any for my own blog. I want to change mine too, I’m just not sure where to start.

    Congrats on finishing up your courses, it’s a tough path but so worth it in the end.

    Delilah had a warty looking thing once, but we did not have it removed. It’s gone now, I think she picked it off. (Isn’t that awful?) I just can’t remember. LOL

Leave a Reply

