My Dog Has “Cat Genes”

Last Tuesday afternoon, when Ducky and I arrived home from her daycare, I took her out into the back yard so she could relieve herself.  What I didn’t see outside the porch door was a squirrel sitting at the base of the tree.  Thankfully, I had myself well-grounded into the dirt just outside the door so when she pulled on the leash I didn’t topple over…

Ducky saw that squirrel and tried to chase it up the tree, literally!  Her back feet were at least a foot above the base of the tree when she realized she couldn’t go any further (at least without help).  I wish I’d had the iPod camera turned on in video mode!  Anyway, Ducky gave up for the time being and backed off so we could walk around the yard for a few minutes.  On our way back to the house, another squirrel (or maybe the same one, who knows?) decided to go up the other side of the tree.  Ducky saw it, and tried to climb the tree again but didn’t have the “traction”.  I did, however, manage to catch her on video this time.  It’s a very short clip – only about two seconds – so you might have to watch it a couple of times to catch the whole thing….

I hope this little post made you smile at the very least – watching Ducky made me laugh.  She’s a little character, this dog of mine.

3 thoughts on “My Dog Has “Cat Genes”

  1. Donna says:

    Those pesky squirrels. Hope you have a plan for getting her back down when she does figure out how to climb. 😉

    As for this: “Thankfully, I had myself well-grounded into the dirt just outside the door so when she pulled on the leash I didn’t topple over…” —- These dogs sure teach us balance, don’t they? Better than taking martial arts! Just get a pulling/lunging dog!

Leave a Reply

