Follow-Up Friday, Again

Where has this week gone?  It seems like the days are just FLYING by lately.  And, the older I get, the faster the days fly by.  Oh well, that’s life!  Well since it IS Friday, it’s time to join the Follow-Up Friday blog hop, so come along and enjoy the ride.   This is the blog hop that lets you wrap up your week and leads you right into the weekend.

 

follow-up-friday-300x155

Monday Mischief aka The Four Stages of Destruction – Author’s Note:

You remember how the Kong Wubba looked in the third stage?  The poor toy was about to just completely fall apart?  Well, it finally did fall apart on Monday night so here’s the fourth and final stage of destruction a la Ducky…

Wubba Destruction 4

The squeaky, rubber ball finally fell out of the Wubba – and was instantly snatched up and carried around the house by Miss Ducky Doodle Demon Dog (4D?) herself the rest of the night.  The remainder of the toy was put in the trash bin for the garbage man to take to the dump on Tuesday morning.    Poor toy doesn’t stand a chance with Ducky!  Maybe, as she gets a little older she might be less destructive with her toys?  I don’t really care one way or the other, as long as she leaves things like furniture and people “toys” alone (which she does now that she’s not teething any more).   Meanwhile, since Ducky has already started working on one of Shadow’s Wubbas, I stopped at our PetSmart on the way home this morning (after dropping the little monster off at daycare) and bought Shadow a new one.  This one will stay out for Shadow to play with, but as soon as Ducky gets home, it gets put up in the closet out of Ducky’s reach.  Same for the Kong Cozie toy that I bought for Callie this morning while I was replacing Shadow’s Wubba.

Pardon Me for Venting – Author’s Note:

Just a quick note to say that I’m not going to read the comments on the ASPCA blogs any more.  One of my friends wrote to me that people who write comments like the ones I got so “upset” about on Tuesday are just doing it for attention and wouldn’t have the audacity to say such things in public.  Well, that may be true and may not be but nasty, disrespectful comments like those are not worth my time and energy.  So, as my friend Forrest Gump would say…”that’s all I have to say about that.”

 

Ducky’s in the Dog House at Daycare (and other This ‘N That Thursday postlets) – Author’s Notes

Ducky wasn’t really in the doghouse on Wednesday.  The girls just thought she looked so cute sitting there that they couldn’t resist taking a picture of her.  They really love my little demon dog down there.

As for sisterly love, it’s wonderful how much my two Golden Girls love each other.  They truly are inseparable…when I bring Callie in on the porch while Shadow does her business, she just sits right inside the door waiting for her.  And before she tore her ligament and had to have the surgery, she would always be right at Shadow’s side to protect her from anything out in the yard (just in case I wasn’t close by enough).  Now Shadow watches us as I walk Callie around the yard to lightly exercise the leg and get it “working” right again.  Sometimes she even walks right next to us.

And I LIVE FOR quiet moments!  I love my husband dearly, but when he’s home the TV is blaring from the minute he sits in his chair to the minute we go to bed, unless we happen to be going out somewhere.  It drives me nuts!  I can’t even hear myself think at times.  So, when he’s at work, or otherwise occupied at home, I have the “music choice” 60’s channel on and the volume set just high enough to know it’s on, but low enough so that I can hear the dogs breathing/snoring.  And when Ducky’s sleeping on one of the dog beds, or just chewing on a bone, I relish the moment.  And if she’s awake and quiet, I give her quiet praise.  Maybe one of these days, she’ll figure out why.  Hehe.

 

One Last Thing from Several Weeks Ago:

In one of her posts, Pamela at Something Wagging This Way Comes was talking about an article by Suzanne Clothier titled He Just Wants To Say Hi” and what an excellent article it was about relationship building with one’s dog (or dogs).  I told her in my comments that I really need to read it.  And I know Jodi mentioned it in one of her “Heart Like A Dog” posts, too.  Well, I FINALLY got around to reading it yesterday.  It is definitely an excellent article to read, especially for anyone with a “reactive” dog…like me!  And, for any dog trainer/handler (or trainer-to-be)…again, like me.  I’m going to re-read it as soon as I get a chance.  I’m also going to forward a copy to several of my buddies in the Cesar Millan/Dog Whisperer community.  And before you say or think anything, let me tell you that these folks are great “dog people”.  They all have wonderful relationships with their own dogs, and share stories and information with the “newbies” in the community who might ask for/need guidance in certain areas of their relationships with their dogs.  And they DON’T worship Cesar like a god.  In fact, the community has moved away from the Dog Whisperer’s website and formed its own forum.  I’ve made a lot of great online friendships in that forum.  I truly believe that my buddies will recognize right away the common sense information/advice Suzanne Clothier provides in her article.

 

Well, that does it for me today.  Time to shut down the computer and give my Golden Girls some attention before the day slips away from us.  Have a great weekend everyone!!



7 thoughts on “Follow-Up Friday, Again

  1. Jodi says:

    Great FUF post Sue, thanks for linking up with us.

    Wow, Ducky really did a number on that Wubba, didn’t she? LOL I’m with you though, I don’t care if they destroy toys as long as they leave shoes, furniture etc. alone!

    As for your friends at the Whisperer forum, I try not to be judgy, just because they are a fan doesn’t mean they follow his practice. I’m so glad you got to read that article from Suzanne, it was a great read and opened my eyes in such a profound way.

    BTW, my husband is the same as yours with the TV, which is why I cherish my Saturday mornings of quiet. I don’t even turn the TV on. 🙂

    Have a great weekend, glad to hear Callie is feeling better.

  2. 2browndawgs says:

    Thanks for participating in FUF. Nice group this week.

    About dog training–I have always said that the best dog trainers that I have known use the method that works for the dog. The best trainers can read dogs and know what is working and what isn’t. I don’t have the issues with Ceasar Milan’s methods that others do. Some dogs need that kind of training and some don’t. I think that less dogs would end up in shelters if people were more receptive to all types of training. I know my pal Jodi would not agree with me. 🙂

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      I must agree with you to a large extent. The trainers I don’t agree with are those who do actual physical harm to a dog in the name of “training”. During all the years I watched Cesar, I never saw him physically harm a dog. And, when one of my friends came back from a training session with Cesar last September, she said she saw first hand the phenomenal relationship he has with all the dogs at the DPC. You don’t establish relationships like that by harming a dog. Thanks for the support!

  3. SUGAR: Golden Woofs says:

    Woof! Woof! WOW on that Wubba. Great post/article of Suzanne.It reminded us of our stay in Hi and how the dogs interacted with me. We used to like Caesar but something has changed him … it might be his stardom. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  4. Sue at Talking Dogs says:

    Stopping by on the FUR blog hop. We have the same attitude about dog toys at our house. I don’t mind how many toys our puppy destroys, because those are not furniture, etc! Now, I need to go read that article you and Jodi talked about! Have a great weekend and happy National Puppy Day!

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      Woof Woof to you, too! We haven’t been able to watch Cesar since the original show moved to NatGeo Wild — Charter refuses to sign a contract with NG — so we can’t agree or disagree with you about him. If he has changed, a lot of it could be due to the divorce. We won’t judge him tho since we haven’t seen for ourselves.
      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

