Monday Mischief

In Heart Like A Dog’s Follow-Up Friday post last week, Jodi gave me an idea for today’s Monday Mischief blog hop post.  Jodi posted before and after pix of one of Sampson and Delilah’s favorite toys, a sheep she had won from another blogger.  Those photos made me smile, in fact, laugh out loud and startle my two sleeping beauties.  So, I decided to follow her example….

MondayMischief_thumb

Ducky’s two most favorite toys to play with are her Kong Wubbas and any Nylabone toy I find at PetSmart for her.  Well, as a kid, I treated my favorite toys with love, respect, and gentleness.  And my dogs – at least until I adopted Ducky – have done and still do the same with their favorite toys.  Not Ducky though.  Okay, there’s not much damage she can do to a sturdy Nylabone toy.  BUT, the Kong Wubbas are another story altogether.  I’ve lost count of how many she has totally destroyed since I gave her the very first one to play with back in September.  All that’s left of them are the rubber balls and small tennis balls used as stuffing (she likes those, too, but not as much – unless Shadow has it but that’s another story in itself!).  So, I thought I’d do like Jodi did with the sheep toy.  Here’s a brand-new Wubba, as yet untouched by Ducky (I actually bought it for Callie, whose color is purple)….

Wubba Destruction 1

And then there’s Shadow’s Wubba which Ducky got a hold of the other night and started playing with.  Shadow doesn’t care…she’ll play with it whether it’s brand-new or a little worn out.  Well, “worn out” doesn’t begin to describe Ducky’s “El Destructo” fun….

Wubba Destruction 2

And then there’s Ducky’s favorite stage, where the small tennis ball in the top is already gone (and in the trash bin to keep her from chewing it apart) and the rubber, squeaky ball in the middle is almost ready to fall out of the toy.  I’ve decided that Ducky likes these toys because they’re made of the same fabric (nylon) as her leash, which she also loves to chew on.  Anyway, here’s the third stage of destruction…..

Wubba Destruction 3

The fourth stage of destruction is when the rubber ball has become just another toy in Callie’s and Shadow’s repertoire of things to carry around the house, like any retriever worth its salt would do.  And, at that point, it goes out in the trash and gets replaced with a brand-new one to rip apart.  (By the way, our carpet is invariably covered in pieces of Wubba toys of varying colors because Ducky spits the pieces out as she’s pulling them apart.  I spend at least 10 minutes every day picking up the pieces and throwing them in the trash so the vacuum cleaner doesn’t get choked up.)

Well, I hope I’ve made you smile today!  Ducky’s toy killing moments are an endless source of entertainment for hubby and me – and ho-hum moments for Callie and Shadow – but then we’re “Crazy Dog People” so what do you expect from a pair of almost senior citizens? 

This is the Monday Mischief blog hop, hosted by Alfie’s Blog, Snoopy’s Dog Blog and My Brown Newfies.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “Monday Mischief

  1. eaglestare@comcast.net says:

    Ducky sounds like she runs 1000 miles per hr! Good thing she doesnt swallow the pieces of toys! Is she teething still?

    Sent with Verizon Mobile Email

  2. eaglestare@comcast.net says:

    I tried to send you an email a min ago but not sure it went through. got it?

    Sent with Verizon Mobile Email

  3. Jodi says:

    Thanks for the shout out my dear! If you and Sam are like us, we don’t mind the toys being destroyed as long as they leave personal items and furniture alone. 🙂 She’s got a set of teeth on her, I can see that. Mine mostly go for the stuffies, the Kong Wubba is still hanging tough in our house.

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      Exactly! And add to that respecting her “siblings”. I must say, tho, that Ducky is getting better with the girls.

      Callie’s surgery and now her healing process has made Ducky more respectful of her. I think Ducky was actually afraid of the e-collar when Callie was still wearing it. Maybe I should put it on Shadow for a few nights and see if Ducky’s attitude around her improves? 🙂 Just kidding — I wouldn’t do that to Shadow.

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      PS. Just watch out that they don’t eat the stuffing…it has been known to expand inside a dog and cause serious problems, even death. That’s why I don’t let Ducky or Shadow get hold of Callie’s stuffed toys. Callie carries them around & plays with them very gently but the other two are “hard” on their toys.

Leave a Reply

