Peaceful Slumber

Well, here it is Friday again.  Not that I want to rush through the rest of the week, but I love Fridays cuz hubby and I have our weekly “date” at our favorite restaurant on Friday evenings, which means I don’t have to figure out what to make for dinner or where to get it if it’s something special.  And I love Fridays because it means the weekend is almost here.  So what do I have to follow-up on?  Not much but it is Friday so I’m joining Heart Like A Dog and Donna and the Dogs on the Follow-Up-Friday blog hop.

follow-up-friday-300x155

 

Callie and Shadow love the weekdays because Ducky’s at daycare and they get to have Mom all to themselves. And I get to watch them sleep, like they’re both doing now…

Peaceful Slumber 1Peaceful Slumber 2

I love watching my girls sleep.  All their cares melt away as they enter dream land.  Their legs twitch and move as though they’re running after a squirrel (or maybe the neighbor’s cat?) and then they open their eyes for just a moment as they change position.  Right now, Callie is laying on the carpet with her legs and chest resting on the edge of one of the dog beds.  I don’t know how she can possibly be comfortable, but it sure doesn’t bother her any.

Speaking of Callie, she goes back to the surgeon next Wednesday to have the sutures (staples actually) removed.  Yay Callie!  She finally started trying to walk a little on the leg on Wednesday morning.  The surgeon said last week I couldn’t let her run, or even be off leash, in the yard.  It’s not easy because Callie is such an independent girl that she doesn’t like being restricted like that, BUT we’re managing.  It just requires taking her out alone most times.  (I take Shadow and Ducky out together and then I leave Shadow in the living room and Ducky in the kitchen while I help Callie down the three steps to the back door and then outside.)  So, next Friday I’ll be able to follow up on the suture removal visit.

Somehow, watching my two older pups sleep relieves my stress.  At least with Callie’s surgery done and over with I can relax more and worry less.  Yet, I wasn’t worried about the surgery itself.  I was comfortable with the obvious risks, and Callie is a healthy dog.  I’m just a worry-wart at times even though I know it gets me nowhere, like sitting in a rocking chair.  It’s when Ducky gets home that I start getting stressed again.  She wants attention, to be played with, etcetera (like any normal adolescent dog), but she barks at us with a bark that could wake the dead.  It’s annoying at times, especially when you have a headache.  Last night was one of Ducky’s more “vociferous” nights.  She played hard at daycare all day, took a nap until hubby got home, and then wanted both of us to play.  Gadz!  When is this dog going to calm down??  But we love her, so we put up with her craziness.  And it’s that craziness – and hubby’s reaction to it – that stresses me out.  Last night I had to take her outside with me and just breathe deeply a few times (and give us both a break from hubby’s crankiness). 

Well, that’s it for me.  Hope everyone has a great weekend!  Maybe I’ll see y’all for “Monday Mischief”.



5 thoughts on “Peaceful Slumber

  1. Donna says:

    It’s always nice to have a night where you don’t need to worry about cooking – and even better when you have a special someone to share that dinner with. Hope you have a nice time.

    I went back through your posts to see what happened to Callie, and I see she tore her ACL. I’m glad the surgery went well and she should be back to herself soon. My senior, Leah, had ACL surgery when she was nine, and other than some minor arthritis because it took a while to diagnose the issue, (long story), her knee is as good as new. 🙂

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      Hi Donna!

      Thanks for sharing about your Leah! I find it encouraging to know that she was 9 at the time of her ACL surgery and her knee is as good as new, aside from the arthritis. Callie will be 9 next month, and she has some arthritis in her left hip, so my hope is that she won’t need the ACL surgery in her left knee any time soon. (But if she does, she will have it.)

      Still haven’t had time to re-try managing my subscription. Oh well, such is life when you have an almost-senior dog that needs special attention, an almost-senior dog that wants constant attention, and a young adolescent dog that needs exercise and discipline 15 hours out of every 24. OMG, Ducky is actually asleep on one of the dog beds! She must have played HARD today at daycare! :-)) Hopefully she played HARD enough to be tired all evening! He-he!

      Have a great weekend!

      Sue

  2. Sue at Talking Dogs says:

    Hope Callie continues to do well. After Tucker’s first ACL surgery, it rained for 3 weeks. Monsoons of rain. There we’d be… Tucker with his “bad” leg, on leash, wearing a raincoat (he was so ashamed to wear a raincoat) and us with an umbrella… while he took forever to do his business. It was a very soggy time!

  3. Jodi says:

    Thanks for joining us for FUF Sue! Glad to hear that Callie is on track for healing. Rest is probably the best thing for her. Did you get a chance to read that article by Suzanne? It was a wonderful piece. I meant to shoot you an e-mail (slipped my mind) about Ducky’s reaction to you when you go to pick her up. I had asked another blogger who does fosters about this because Sampson will snap if another dog approaches while he is getting petted. The other blogger said she thought it was resource guarding and the way they handle that is to not let the dog be pet when there are other dogs around. Not sure if that helps you or not. I am going to check into attending one of Suzanne’s seminars if I can manage it.

    Have a great weekend!

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      Hi Jodi! Thanks for thinking of us! It’s kinda hard to reply while on the Kindle cuz I can’t see what I’m replying to — total pain! So, if I miss/forget something forgive me please.

      Callie’s sutures/staples come out on Wednesday and I’m thinking of asking the vet surgeon if it would be ok to let Callie rest on an outdoor cushion in the upper driveway on a sunny day as long as I have her under control (on leash), with a towel protecting the leg from sunburn.

      I haven’t had a chance to read the Suzanne Clothier article yet, but I did bookmark it.

      As for Ducky: Thanks for checking! I’m not sure if it’s resource guarding or possessiveness, as in thinking she owns me. I guess there’s a thin line there, huh? I have to give it some more thought.

      Well, time to go pick up the little demon dog. Hope you’re having a great weekend! We’re trying to have one! 🙂

      Sue

Leave a Reply

