Follow Up Friday

I can’t believe it’s Friday again already!  Don’t get me wrong – I’m glad it is, because that means Callie’s surgery is over with and now she can start to heal and rebuild her stamina, strength, and leg bones, muscles, and tissue.  Poor girl is still a bit tired from the stress of the surgery but she’s starting to “come around” to her normal, happy, extroverted self. 

 

So, although I’m not “co-hosting” with Jodi/HeartLikeADog this week, I am posting a follow up and it is Friday.  Come along and join us for “Follow Up Friday”….

 

follow-up-friday-300x155

 

CALLIE, POST SURGERY DAYS 1 and 2

 

Here are some photos of the way Callie looks now.  I took the pix yesterday after I got her home, in the house, and settled in the living room….

 

Callie Post SurgeryCallie Post Surgery2Callie Post Surgery3

All that beautiful, golden hair missing from her leg and hip – it breaks my heart!  And as cold as it’s been in the morning the poor girl shivers when I take her out for potty breaks.   Thank goodness she’s only supposed to be outside for five minutes at a time, at least for these first two weeks!  We’ll see what the surgeon says when  he takes the sutures out.  Meanwhile, Shadow’s being a BIG help to me with Callie!  She goes out in the back yard with us, and instead of roaming too far away she stays fairly close without crowding us.  So, when it’s time to go inside, she follows right behind us.  And, when we have to leave the house, she stays right next to Callie to keep an eye on her.  It’s really sweet how she has taken on the guardian role. 

 

And Ducky?  How did she handle the change in Callie’s appearance/energy?  I was very proud of her last night!  She was very respectful of Callie…she sniffed her all over to figure out what was going on.  And she sniffed again.  But then I guess the touch of Ducky’s breath, and maybe her nose as well, on Callie’s bare skin made Callie shiver and twitch a little a few times.  So I told Ducky to leave Callie be for a while and she actually listened to me.  For the rest of the night, Ducky left both Callie AND Shadow alone.  She played with her Kong toy and her Nylabones, and played a little tug-of-war with me, and took naps on the couch.  No growling at Shadow when Shadow chewed on a bone, or picked up a ball, or came to one of us humans for attention.  I was a very happy “Rescue Dog Mom” last night!  Maybe she really is starting to “grow up”.  I’ll reserve that judgment for a while longer though.

 

There’s really not anything else to follow up on this week, so I’ll sign off for now and go give Callie and Shadow some lovin’…..



5 thoughts on “Follow Up Friday

  1. Jodi says:

    Gosh Sue, thanks so much for joining us today! I’m so glad that Callie’s surgery went so well and that everyone is being respectful and giving her the space she needs. Here’s to a quick recovery.

    On a different note, if I had a dollar for every time I thought Delilah had finally matured….LOL I hope for your sake Ducky is settling down. Hugs to Callie!

Leave a Reply

