Pet Blogger’s Challenge 2013

I’m taking the Pet Blogger Challenge today just for the heckuvit, and I am a First Timer at this, so please be patient with me…..  

1.  When did you begin your blog?

My first post — a very short one — was on December 6th, 2010.

2.  What was your original purpose for starting a blog?

“Just because” I thought it would be fun.  An online friend of mine had a blog about his dogs at the time and he inspired & encouraged me to do the same.

3.  Is your current purpose the same?  If not, what’s different?  If so, how do you feel you’ve met your goals? 

My purpose for the blog has not really changed that much.  I wanted a journal of sorts of life with my dogs, which it still is; but from time to time I reblog posts from friends’ blogs that I really enjoy and think others would enjoy as well.  As for goals, who needs them?  I’m happy with my blog just the way it is.

4.  How often do you post?

I post whenever “the spirit moves me”, when inspiration hits me squarely between the eyes, or however else you want to say it; in other words, absolutely no schedule whatsoever.  I hate schedules.  I had to follow schedules when I worked full time.  Now that I’m happily unemployed, I allow myself the luxury of not setting schedules…they tend to demotivate me. 

If you don’t publish on a schedule….how do you think your decision affects your audience?

I never gave it much thought before since my only purpose for my blog was to have fun and to keep friends up to date on the random thoughts in my mind and the antics of my dogs.  If that sounds selfish, so be it.  I’m just being honest.  It’s not to say I don’t appreciate my new readers, because I do.  And I appreciate the wonderful compliments I’ve been receiving of late.  BUT If I set up a schedule for myself, it would be like being back at work again and it would stop being fun.  No, thank you! 

6.  How much time do you spend writing your blog per week?  How much time visiting other blogs?  Share your tips for staying on top of it all.

I’ve never paid any attention to the clock when “creating” my posts, so truthfully I have no idea.  Same goes for visiting other blogs.  If I watched the clock, my “inspiration” would disappear because I’d feel pressured to get it done by x hour of x day.  I prefer to do it when I can fit it in to the time my dogs take their naps.

7.  How do you measure the success of a post and of your blog in general (comments, shares, traffic)?

I don’t even try.  Since I started this blog for my own selfish purposes, and for a few friends to entertain themselves reading about the antics of my dogs, I never gave much thought — if any — to the stats available on WordPress.  I figure if people want to read what I have to say, that’s great; if they don’t, that’s okay too.  I love the compliments — and appreciate those I receive (and the authors thereof) — but I don’t care to start measuring the success of something I do for my own pleasure.  I had enough of measuring the success of my efforts during all the years I worked at one job or another.

8.  If you could ask the pet blogging community for help with one issue you’re having with your blog, what would it be?

Actually, the help I really need is something WordPress would have to do:  provide me with some pet-related themes for my FREE version of the app.  The free themes are so limited it’s pathetic, especially if you’re NOT a technology geek like my older brother (which I’m not).  Maybe, if I have the time one day I’ll draft a petition to send to WP and the community can help me by adding their signatures to it?

9.  What goals do you have for your blog in 2013?

My one goal for my blog is to set no goals at all.  I am enrolled in a dog obedience training instructor course that I need to finish up.  And, when I have passed the final exam for the initial course, I have three Continuing Education Program (CEP) units to go through before I start the Veterinary Assistant course with the same school (Animal Behavior College).  Until I get through all these courses successfully, I’m not setting any other goals for myself or my blog.   

 

Since the free version of WordPress does not support the linky tool, you can get everything you need here:
http://gopetfriendlyblog.com/third-annual-pet-blogger-challenge-jan-10th/

10 thoughts on “Pet Blogger’s Challenge 2013

  1. SUGAR: goldenwoofss says:

    Woof! Woof! We found you … been reading a lots of this challenge, we wanted to join but it was too late so next year. Would love to help you with your WP blog but mom does not work with WP.com. You many want to get your own domain and hosting then we can help you with the theme or blog redesign. Wish you lots of luck on your goals. Lots of Golden woofs, Sugar

  2. GoPetFriendly.com (@GoPetFriendly) says:

    Thanks so much for joining the Challenge! I love your relaxed approach to blogging. If I tried to do things without a schedule I’m afraid the wheels would fall off. Perhaps that would be an interesting experiment.

    I’m afraid I’m no help at all with the WP themes, but I think the one you’ve chosen is light and happy feeling – perfect to match the personality of a Golden Retriever! Good luck with your courses and I’ll look forward to stopping by again.

  3. Jodi says:

    Ah, you have to love an honest gal!! Good for you, I sometimes wish I cared less about where my blog was heading so I enjoyed it a tad bit more. (Not to say I don’t love it, but I do feel very pressured sometimes!) As for the pet themes for WP my suggestion would be to look for a customizable theme and you can change the background/header etc.

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      Kinda late getting back to you on this…I’m not “blog savvy”, or for that matter WordPress savvy, so changing the background/header, etc. stuff for me is frustrating. Ya wanna come down to South Carolina for a visit and show me how to do it? Ha-ha. 🙂

  4. Tegan says:

    I love your attitude and it’s so great that your blog is firmly for you. I wish you all the best in keeping your blog fun and personal, and not for the pleasure of others.

    • Sams Northern Girl says:

      Thanks! I figure that as long as I don’t put any pressure on myself to post on any kind of schedule, I’ll be able to maintain my “selfish attitude”. Sometimes ya just gotta do for you, ya know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

