Something Different

Ah, the things we do for friends (and/or family members) in need! Today I’m stepping out of my “comfort zone” a little bit by not posting a story about my three personal sunbeams.

A friend has asked for my help. And all I need do is provide a link in my blog to the blog post of another of her friends. Simple enough. Here’s that link:

http://thedogbreedsbible.com/the-best-wireless-dog-fence-guide/

The only hard part for me is the fact that I, personally, do not like invisible fences. They provide absolutely no privacy from passers-by (and I am nearly fanatical when it comes to my privacy). They do not keep other peoples’ dogs out of your yard, or people either for that matter. And, no amount of beeping or shock from the collar will deter a dog who REALLY wants its freedom. True, a wood or chain-link fence won’t contain such a dog, either; but a dog with physical limitations is less likely to jump over or dig under a visible fence than to ignore the shock sensation from a collar.

Okay, so that said, I realize there are people who prefer the invisible fences for their own reasons. That’s fine with me…I can agree to disagree. BUT for those of you who do, I believe you should do your “homework” before deciding on any specific fence. The link above not only reviews invisible fences; but also provides some excellent educational value with respect to the choice, installation, and use of an invisible fence. And as an added bonus includes a training video.

So, that’s the extent of my Barks and Bytes Blog Hop post for this week. The Barks and Bytes Blog Hop is for everyone — pet bloggers and people who blog about other things — so please come join us!

Welcome to Thursday’s Barks and Bytes Blog hop hosted by 2 Brown Dogs and Heart Like a Dog.

The Barks and Bytes hop is for anything at all and all bloggers are welcome. You don’t have to be a dog blog to join.

For new blog hoppers, a blog hop is list of links that is shared on multiple blogs. In order to be fair to all participants we ask you to please use the linky list. If your blog does not support a linky list, please link back to your hosts.

This is a Blog Hop!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “Something Different

  1. 2 Brown Dawgs says:

    Thanks for joining the hop. As you may remember, we have an invisible fence. It is a good alternative when you live in a place that does not allow fences (where we live). It does require training. Our dogs have never broken it. Nope not even to chase a bunny or squirrel. But training is key.

    I thought it was interesting that the blogger included the training video from Invisible Fence, but that is not one of the systems listed. I do think Invisible Fence is one of the best out there. They offer excellent at home training and good suggestions for making the system work with your pets. We also had to have a repair last summer (system was 7 years old) and they did a great job of it.

    • The Golden Life says:

      Yes, the invisible fence DOES work for people who can’t have a visible ones for whatever reason…at least for keeping their own dogs inside the boundaries. (It’s no surprise to me at all that the Brown Dawgs have never broken the training!)

      Funny, I never noticed that “Invisible Fence” was not one of the systems listed…but then, I only did a cursory read and review of the blog itself. Oh well. “Dems da breaks.” 🙂

  2. Jodi says:

    Thanks for joining the hop Sue!! I don’t like the fences for the very reason you mentioned. It does not protect your pet from something coming inside the yard and have heard of some dogs that will break it.

  3. ThatJenK says:

    Nice of you to share despite your misgivings!
    I have zero experience with invisible fences, but around here, some communities have bylaws that prohibit fences on properties (seems silly, but whatevs), so they become the method of choice for dog owners who absolutely must live in those neighbourhoods. If it comes down to invisible fence vs. tethering your dog in the yard, I think I’m on the side of the fence. Both contain concerns and risks, though. I agree it’s important to think it out well.

    • The Golden Life says:

      Many of the subdivisions around here also do not allow fences; but the homes are on such small pieces of property that you can practically see everything inside your neighbors’ bedroom. Not for me thanks! If I’m going to live in a house, it’s going to be on a decent-sized piece of property…otherwise, IMO, you might as well live in an apartment or townhouse.
      As for the invisible fence vs. tethering the dog in the yard, I agree.

  4. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Thanks for helping a friend out! We have never had an invisible fence but we have neighbors that have them. I guess there are pros and cons for them just like everything else!

  5. Donna O. says:

    I’m not a fan of those fences either. My sis had one (in a community that didn’t allow regular fencing) and her dog actually went for a visitor once, who they realized after was standing right about where the fence line was, which wasn’t marked in that particular spot, since he was in the driveway. The dog admittedly was a little cooky, but had never done anything like that before, so could it have been that she got shocked as he reached for her? I think so.

    I also don’t like that it doesn’t prevent other dogs or animals, or even people, from coming in to your yard and tormenting your dog.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.